High Hopes for the New Year: Update, Helping Those in Need

27 Mar

Back just a few months ago, when everyone was making New Year’s Resolutions, I posted a blog called “High Hopes for the New Year“. So far, so good.

Here is the update of what I’ve collected so far. It doesn’t look (or feel) like much, but the goal isn’t to save the world. The goal is to inspire others, and to even help a little bit. Something, after all, is better than nothing.

12895513_10207033261764809_2135429882_n

The items I’ve collected, January – March:

  • Pads
  • Socks
  • Tampons
  • Razors
  • Instant Mashed Potatoes
  • Brown Gravy (2)
  • Lipton Noodle Soup
  • Hormel Compleats Smokey Bacon Parmesan Rigatoni
  • Motts Cinnamon Apple Sauce
  • Brown Rice
  • Canned Mandarin Oranges
  • Canned Cut Green Beans
  • Canned Sliced Peaches
  • Campbells Vegetable Soup
  • Chef Boyardee Beefaroni

That is 15 items, representing 15 trips to the store over 3 months. That is 5 trips per month to the grocery store. By the end of the year, that will equal 60 items.

I would still love to have someone join me! The rules are simple: 1) items have to be generally non-perishable, 2) you have to buy something each time you go to the grocery store, 3) items don’t need to be large or extravagent

 

7 Responses to “High Hopes for the New Year: Update, Helping Those in Need”

  1. buddy71 March 27, 2016 at 2:56 pm #

    do you have a date to turn those items in and to whom will you donate?
    i collect items throughout the year and usually in november donate to goodwill or salvation army.
    good luck with htis and it is a wonderful thing to do.

    • mishie1 March 27, 2016 at 4:54 pm #

      I haven’t decided the date, yet. I’d like to donate it at a time other than the holidays, because donations are greatest then, but I also don’t want to hold onto everything for *too* long. We have a place called Fort Collins Rescue Mission that caters to the homeless and in need population in the area, so that is where I plan to donate this stuff.

  2. Kelly L March 28, 2016 at 1:04 pm #

    I would love to participate in this with you! I think I am going to focus my efforts on pads and tampons as those are a HUGE need at Fort Collins Rescue Mission…

    • mishie1 March 28, 2016 at 8:34 pm #

      Awwwww! Yayyyy! I think that’s awesome, and those *are* a big need. One that people don’t often think of, too!

  3. Ashley April 2, 2016 at 1:32 pm #

    I just saw this… I would love to help!

Leave a Comment

