The Pure Joy Brought on by the KonMari Method of Tidying

8 Jan

“Every object has a different role to play…It is the same with people. Not every person you meet in life will become a close friend or lover. Some you will find hard to get along with or impossible to like. But these people, too, teach you the precious lesson of who you do like, so that you will appreciate those special people even more.”


“To me it doesn’t seem right to keep clothes we don’t enjoy for relaxing around the house. This time at home is still a precious part of living. It’s value should not change just because nobody sees us…Precisely because no one is there to see you, it makes far more sense to reinforce a positive self-image by wearing clothes you love…If sweatpants are your everyday attire, you’ll end up looking like you belong in them, which is not very attractive. What you wear in the house does impact your self-image.”


“It is not our memories but the person we have become because of those past experiences that we should treasure. This is the lesson these keepsakes teach us when we sort them. The space in which we live should be for the person we are becoming now, not for the person we were in the past. “

 

Those are just a few quotes that I really connected to while reading The Life Changing Magic of Tidying Up by Marie Kondo. Really, I connected with the entire book and it was beautiful.

The discarding part I connected to more, and it got me much more excited than the organizing section. When she talks about organizing, she just sounds crazy, but I also feel like the set-up of my home is much different than the Japanese homes she continually references.

While I’m not skeptical of whether or not her method works (I’m completely sold, actually), I can’t help but wonder about the one thing she didn’t seem to mention: functional items that you actually use regularly. Of course, we have to keep toilet paper around regardless of if it doesn’t “spark joy” in our lives, but every time I open my cupboard I can’t help but wonder about my “spare dishes”. Yes, I have just about 56 muffin tins and could get rid of 54 of them, but my glassware poses a problem.

For Christmas, my mother gave me a new set of dishes, and they are absolutely wonderful. Every time I simply look at them I get all giddy and excited. I decided to use them only when I have people over or formal dinners, though, so I kept my old dish set around for every day use. That way I won’t break one and end up with an odd set. I also entertain for more than 4 people quite frequently, so I need the extra glasses and plates.

I plan on beginning the journey once I finish unpacking, and, as always, will keep you up-to-date on my progress!

Have you read this book? Are you planning on reading it? What do you think about the dishes – do I keep them because I use them, or toss them because they don’t “spark joy”? How do you feel about the quotes I pulled from Kondo’s book?

9 Responses to “The Pure Joy Brought on by the KonMari Method of Tidying”

  1. buddy71 January 8, 2016 at 8:16 pm #

    i like all the quotes. good choices. i dress the way i dress because i feel comfortable in what i am wearing. if someone doesnt like how i am dressed, that is their issue not mine. but since i do work, i have to maintain a professional attitude. i do my best but i do push the envelope a bit. lol
    i feel we hang onto things for all sorts of reasons, but mostly, i feel, because of sentimental reasons or we feel we will use the item again.
    as for clothes, i have heard it said, if you have not worn it in a year… get rid of it. lol
    i cleaned out my kitchen cupboards and closets and made several trips to goodwill.
    dishes should be used and not just for special times, though there are times that some can be special. :)
    good luck and good post

  2. April January 9, 2016 at 10:02 am #

    I’ve read the book & loved it. Even some of the “crazy” bits; like greeting your home when you return and thanking it for providing shelter. I kinda felt like…it’s less about speaking to your home and more about remembering to be grateful for something that we quite often take for granted.

    The dishes… Do you feel like you’ll need the space? If you have more than enough space (It’s odd, but I also love Gretchen Rubin’s advice to leave an empty drawer or shelf somewhere in your home; there’s an odd kind of peace that comes with it.), I don’t think it would hurt too much to keep both sets. I will say this though, I used to own several sets of dishes. They were pretty and I’d hoped to entertain (I didn’t/don’t). I eventually parted with some and kept one set (of four) that we now use as “everyday” plates. It’s been at least 4 years and none of them have broken. I think because I do enjoy them, I’m subconsciously more careful with them. I guess depending upon the set, you may also be able to order replacements if one does break. If it’s really weighing on you and you want to go down to one set, but are still worried about them breaking, maybe look into that and bookmark the site to order replacements?

    • mishie1 January 9, 2016 at 10:09 am #

      I guess it’s not the normal crazy parts I felt were crazy, because I love the grading and training to your stuff idea… It’s the cleaning things she sprinkles in, like the shampoo bottles. We’re supposed to write them off after each shower? Why??? I find that absolutely unnecessary, and thus find it absolutely unnecessary to keep my shower stuff under the sink. Don’t get me wrong… I agree keeping the bottles on the tub is a hassle, but that’s why they live in a super caddy attached to the shower head.

      • April January 10, 2016 at 5:45 pm #

        Oh, yes…that. LOL I guess I “get” the idea of visual clutter, but…we pull our shower curtain closed to dry anyway so nobody notices the shampoos and conditioners on the rack in the corner of our shower!

    • mishie1 January 9, 2016 at 10:11 am #

      And thanks for the dishes advice. Maybe that’s why I accidentally broke half of my last set (I no longer loved them). But the problem with both is that they are Walmart so they won’t indefinitely carry replacements.

      • April January 10, 2016 at 5:47 pm #

        True, but they’re WalMart, so they’ll be mass produced and you could probably find replacements on eBay or in thrift stores…or, by the time one breaks and they’re no longer around with replacements, you may want a whole new set anyway. *shrug* Just a thought! :-)

  3. L January 9, 2016 at 1:07 pm #

    I’m not a reader but I’ll totally read this. I’m trying to be happier this year so maybe this will have some good advice.

    • mishie1 January 9, 2016 at 1:21 pm #

      I really think this could be your ticket, and it isn’t a long read, either. She says that every client she had had do this had chances in their lives for the positive from weight loss to calmness to seeking to fulfill their dreams of who they discover they really are. It sounds amazing and simultaneously scary!

      • L January 9, 2016 at 1:29 pm #

        Nice. Yeah, I totally need to read this. Hope it’s working for you too. Chat me up sometime on skype or hangouts or something and let me know (or just to chat in general, I’m trying to get to know my blogosphere friends a bit more and actually talk to them instead of just reading/commenting).

Leave a Comment

