30 Days of Online Dating: Day 30 (The Final Day)

29 Dec

Dearest Readers,

I thank you so much for joining me on this 30 day adventure. I’ve learned some about myself, a lot about dating sites, and I challenged myself to do some things that were terrifying, even if it was behind a virtual smokescreen.

Alas, we’ve reached our last day, and it isn’t bittersweet at all!! This has been a lot of work, without any tangible pay-off. Now that I don’t have much in the way of new things to fill you in on, I’ll do a recap of the last 30 days along with some highlights

Day 1: driven to quiet desperation by discovering a someone got a someone, I joined HowAboutWe.
Day 5: I got asked out by a guy who seems pretty much perfect, except for location
Day 21: No more potential matches
Day 22: I wrote about orgasms
Day 28: 1 more potential match
Day 29: a superintendent showed interest, but he lives in Glenwood Springs

Messages Sent: 7
Messages Received: 0
Conversations: 3
Intrigued by:
66 
Mutual Intrigues: less than 10, of which even fewer resulted in any kind of conversation

Things learned (general): It is exhausting to search and search and message people and then get nothing in return
Things learned about myself: a lot, but mostly that I still don’t like the idea of dating and meeting strangers…I’m good at relationships, but the part the proceeds the relationships
Something I challenged myself to do: message people first, openly tell people their pictures are cute

Most bizarre/shocking: Still has to be longrod21 with his wanting to hook up. There are better places for that *cough*tinder*cough*

 

Number of dates: 0

 

I won’t be deactivating my profile. If I remember correctly, you can still message people now without paying. I won’t however, be actively participating (meaning I’m not going to be browsing men, but rather, just responding if someone reaches out).

What are your thoughts? What should I do next (and don’t say Tinder!)?

2 Responses to “30 Days of Online Dating: Day 30 (The Final Day)”

  1. buddy71 December 29, 2015 at 5:38 pm #

    i like the cartoon.
    weeeeeelllllllll…..
    i keep seeing the match commercial on tv. maybe give it a try???? if you are wanting to stay with the internet thing
    i have heard that most people meet dateables at work.
    ask google or seri??? ok, google, how do i find a date?

  2. quirkyintrovert December 30, 2015 at 1:59 pm #

    I’ve had success with OkCupid. I was only on it for two weeks when I found my boyfriend. We’ve been happily together for over two years now. Then again, I might have just been very lucky. I found the answers to specific questions to be more useful for determining compatibility than the match score alone, though many of the users on that site don’t have many questions answered. It’s worth giving it a try.

Leave a Comment

