30 Days of Online Dating: Day 20

18 Dec

If there is one thing I’ve learned about this online dating thing…it’s that you can’t really be passive about it. I’ve been going through this “speed date” game everyday, checking my viewers, and hoping for a match or for a nice fellow to message me.

And I’m doing it all wrong.

While I may not be able to do this offline and face-to-face, it’s time to take control. I’ve decided to start messaging a portion of the men I’m interested in, and who knows? Maybe it’ll rub off onto my offline dating (yeah…right!).

Messages Sent: 1
Messages Received: 0
Conversations: 0

About the guy: he loves cats, hates the snow/love dry heat, liberal and an athiest, adorable hair, a decent picture, loves movies and cooking, same age as me
His date: 
Go to a restaurant neither of us have been to and then go to a movie neither of us would be caught dead in.
My reservations:
none, actually…well…I guess his profile technically says he wants kids some day…


Intrigued by:

Mutual Intrigues: 0

Things learned (general): I haven’t really learned it, but I’ve decided that if your profile picture is of anything other than yourself, and you don’t have any pictures of yourself, you must be unattractive and/or very self-conscious about it; how to write a good “first message” (and I’m kind of ashamed I had to Google it…); apparently you can reach “the end” of the guys…
Things learned about myself: 
Something I challenged myself to do: post more date ideas

Most bizarre/shocking: I didn’t think I’d ever look at a picture on someone’s profile and think in my head “are you a…magician???”

 

Want to follow my dating excursion? Go here to begin the journey:30 Days of Online Dating

5 Responses to “30 Days of Online Dating: Day 20”

  1. thecuriousbum December 18, 2015 at 11:44 pm #

    I know you mentioned OKC in a previous post. The good thing about the free stuff is that there’s not much rush. I was on Plenty of Fish and even got a few dates out of it, albi-them one time each.

    • mishie1 December 18, 2015 at 11:55 pm #

      I’ve heard that Plenty of Fish is like…asking for weirdo dick pics. That’s the last thing I need. I suppose at this rate I could just try all the dating sites and review them for the world to see…

      • thecuriousbum December 19, 2015 at 12:00 am #

        Yeah I did see some complaints about such things. I never looked at other guy profiles so not sure what the pool was like.

  2. April December 19, 2015 at 6:47 am #

    So, what I learned, oddly from talking to guys after marrying sean, is that a lot of them get tired of messaging girls and not getting anything back. So they stop. Or they start sending out pre-written drivel, which is worse in most cases. I think you’re on the right track. ;-)

  3. L December 19, 2015 at 8:57 am #

    Admittedly I don’t have much advice for you, sorry. After my last relationship ended I decided I just could not do the dating thing again because I couldn’t handle having my heart broken again, and of course, the only way you can 100% guarantee you’ll never get your heart broken is if you never fall in love.

    Sorry I couldn’t offer any help, but I do hope this endeavor eventually works out for you.

Leave a Comment

