30 Days of Online Dating: Day 6

4 Dec

Finally, an interesting day! Mister flux capacitor messaged me back. Unfortunately, New Mexico is a permanent move (as permanent as moves in your 20’s can be).

Messages Sent: 1
Messages Received: 1
Conversations: 1

What we talked about: He said I didn’t have enough pictures on my profile. And then mentioned something about his neighbors hyperglycemic horses. He also mentioned a road trip, but I should probably not road trip with a stranger. (Right? Is that safe? I’m really bad at this because it sounds both terrible and really fun at the same time.) And then he wants to talk on the phone, and me to post pictures with animals *double swoon*

About the guy: 26, Environmental Engineer with a masters, 6’4″ *swoon*,  he says his perfect Sunday ends with “nuzzling with a honey badger”, secretly wants to be “a flux capacitor”
His date: How about we…Skype
My reservations: He lives in New Mexico :(

…and I don’t have fast enough internet to Skype…


Intrigued by:
15
Mutual Intrigues: 0

Things learned (general): a LOT of people want to go hiking (is that a Colorado thing???)
Things learned about myself: I feel really uncomfortable when strangers show interest in me; talking on the phone to a stranger is a terrifying concept; I already feel bored and maybe jaded with this whole process…I mean, I know I’ve always been one for instant gratification, but I thought I’d have at least a couple more messages by now…
Something I challenged myself to do: tell someone their picture is “cute” (this super adorable guy from Aurora that I really wish was closer)

Most bizarre/shocking:  jmthree writes how about we…”drive to Vegas and elope.” I don’t think I even need to elaborate on how bizarre that is…; found at least a couple people who aren’t in ANY of the pictures on their profile; jacklicious writes I have a weakness for girls who..”are perfect.” Um…really? Really really?? Good luck with that…

 

I’m going to be honest with you, dearest readers. I totally hit “intrigued” on jacklicious. Tall, dark, and handsome apparently got the best of me this time.

 

Oh…and I updated my profile picture. It’s amazing how much more pressure you feel about your dating profile picture versus your Facebook profile picture.

 

Want to follow my dating excursion? Go here to begin the journey:30 Days of Online Dating

 

7 Responses to “30 Days of Online Dating: Day 6”

  1. thecuriousbum December 4, 2015 at 10:34 pm #

    Your approach to this is amusing, although I get like … exhausted if I think too much about it. Nothing to do with your take, just the procedure and backs and forths and little let downs.

    • mishie1 December 4, 2015 at 10:43 pm #

      I’m glad you think so! Life throws me so much stupid, ridiculous, awful things sometimes that I’ve learned to take that, wrap it up, and re-package it in story form. What would otherwise be traumatizing or mundane is then transformed into interesting, amusing, and relatable.

  2. April December 5, 2015 at 1:43 am #

    Well, your dating life is the highlight of my 3am baby nursing sessions anyway. (Side note: is weird that I feel weird saying “breast feeding”? I know we’re all adults and all, but I feel like it’s so… “I just thought you should know…my boob is out. *creepiest wink possible*” At least when I say it..I wouldn’t take it that way if someone else- aw, eff it. I’m weird. Wanna go on a cross country road trip with me? AND my boobs? :-P Side side note: it’s almost 4am and i may be headed for a mental break down…don’t mind me.)

    But road trip with a “stranger”… there’s a YouTuber that goes by EssieButton or Estee Lalonde. She now lives in England with her boyfriend of many years, but when she met him, she lived in Canada and he lived in England. They talked online for…months? A year? Something like that, and then he flew to Canada and they…road tripped across North America for their first date! So…not so crazy as it seems, I suppose!

    • mishie1 December 5, 2015 at 10:42 am #

      First…I hate the word “breast” so I’m not a fan of the term either. Second, cross country road trip with you AND your boobs sounds like an amazing time.
      Third…a road trip with a stranger IS something that I would do… … …

  3. buddy71 December 5, 2015 at 9:53 am #

    a road trip would be cool BUT only after some time of some sort of communication like skype, phone etc. i wouldnt do it without some idea about the person.
    what is it about talking on the phone? people will skype but not talk on the phone?? i get very frustrated with just text or email etc.
    still an interesting read as we get to learn more about you and you are posting more often tan you use to and that is good. :)

    • mishie1 December 5, 2015 at 10:45 am #

      I prefer face to face interactions over any other kind. When you’re in person, you have inflection, body movement, and the ability to do something else if you run into an awkward moment. When you’re on the phone, a good portion of that is missing, and so when you’re talking to someone for the first time and you don’t know what to say you can’t just take a bite, or leave for a moment. Then it leaves awkwardness.

      Skype is not my favorite, either, but I’m more prone to Skype with strangers who I know nothing about than people I’m acquainted with.

      • buddy71 December 5, 2015 at 2:10 pm #

        i agree fully on the face to face. but when one has established even the most minimal relationship, i find, and some distance is involved, text remains the way to communicate . at least on the phone, some vice tone can be heard.

Leave a Comment

