30 Days of Online Dating: Day 4

2 Dec

Not a lot going on in the internet dating world today. I did have an interesting little conversation with a coworker today. Went a little something like this:

Her: Please be safe when you’re going on these dates. You’re really bad at that.
Me: …I *am* really bad at that…
Her: You should run each date by a friend so they can tell you if it is safe or not. “Lets meet in a dark alley way”…probably not a good idea

And it is painfully true. Skinny dipping, driving into the mountains, going to his house to play video games…they all sound so much better than classic first dates in public places.

I’m actually already a little bored, but still trying to decide the best way to use this website. I could either choose matches based solely on the date (This date sounds fun, who cares if they are conservative, Christian, and want children???) or I could actually just use it like any other dating site and ignore the date (Christian, conservative, wants kids…not for me!).

Oh…and that guy I messaged yesterday didn’t message back…

Messages Sent: 1
Messages Received: 0
Conversations: 0

About the guy: 27 and local, has a goat (I think..possibly a sheep) in his profile picture, cute…no other information…
His date: How about we…create our own Willy Wonka adventure: Grab hot chocolates and then keep hitting up candy stores till we lapse into a sugar coma
My reservations: I know absolutely nothing about him, other than he probably works in some farm capacity, so he could be a terrible match (but the date sounds super fun!)


Intrigued by:
4
Mutual Intrigues: 0

Things learned (general): if you look at someones profile, it doesn’t change the day you looked in the “viewers” page, but you DO get an email; either I have different views of what “exercising” is, people are all lying, or I’m one lazy ass motherfucker…pretty much everyone has “often” for how frequently they exercise; it is frustrating when you click on a guys profile and he hasn’t filled out any information
Things learned about myself: abs are super intimidating; I’m a sucker for any guy with a picture that shows he has a cat (but not so much dogs); I want to ask every person who wants kids “some day” how important that is to them
Something I challenged myself to do: message someone who isn’t a “mutual” intrigue

Most bizarre/shocking: hotfaslzih has a picture of John Cusack as his profile picture, and occupation is listed as “baby mama”…

 

 

Any thoughts on how I should approach this date-based vs. not-date-based conundrum? Sound off in the comments!

 

Want to follow my dating excursion? Go here to begin the journey: 30 Days of Online Dating

3 Responses to “30 Days of Online Dating: Day 4”

  1. buddy71 December 2, 2015 at 9:27 pm #

    i think any date or meet up or hang out the first couple of times should be in public and you drive there separately. . you should feel safe is the most important thing. if you are looking for some good conversation, someone a bit different than you might prove nice. stepping out of the box might find someone worthy of your time.

    • mishie1 December 2, 2015 at 9:31 pm #

      The thing is…I wouldn’t feel “unsafe” in a non-public area. That’s what makes me bad at that.

Leave a Comment

