5 Books You SHOULDN’T Read

6 Oct

Without further ado, I present to you the books I would never recommend anyone read (I tried to get a variety of genres):

5. Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky – This was a leisure read I’ve been meaning to read since my freshman year of high school. I’d heard it was a good book, but like many books, never got around to reading it until recently. My opinion might have been different had I read it at a younger age, as it is a self-discovery coming-of-age type of book, and I did go back and forth between including it or not. For lack of a 5th book off the top of my head, I included it. My biggest reason is that this is the only book I’ve ever read that was worse than the movie hands down. I enjoyed the way the book was written, but sometimes lacking insight from an outside source made it a little too vague. If you’re interested in the story, I would recommend just watching the movie. The writing itself isn’t terrible, but again, its just a little too vague and sparse with detail to call it a need to read.

4. Maurice by EM Forster – I was required to read this for my 20th Century Gay and Lesbian Fiction course, an elective I took while obtaining my bachelors. While the premise seems like it would make a good novel, reading it was a very different story. It lacked excitement, and was predictable.

3. Firestarter by Stephen King – I recently read this novel, and for the first 200-250 pages I had to force myself to pick up the book. Again, the plot seemed interesting enough (college experiment goes awry and leads a couple to develop psychokinetic powers, the offspring of which causes them to go on the run to avoid being a government experiment), but until the very end of the book it was a struggle to maintain concentration. The book also jumped around a bit between characters, but often in a way that interjected boring dialogue between what would otherwise be an interesting storyline. I would like to say that the last 100 pages or so were worth the wait, but that would be a lie.

2. Heart of Darkness by Joseph Conrad – This is a book I read in high school, as part of my AP Literature course. Described as heavy and a difficult read, I wouldn’t disagree. If I was to revisit the book almost 10 years later, I can’t say that I would like it any more than I did at the time. If I remember correctly, the metaphor was thick and instead of contributing to the books purpose, detracted.

1. War of the Worlds by HG Wells – This is a book I read in high school, probably as a sophomore or junior. The lore surrounding the book itself, along with a love of the classics led me to its pages. This is a book that makes the bore of Firestarter look like child’s play. The details Wells uses are descriptive to the point of excess, making his sentences frequently take up an entire paragraph, and sometimes even spanning multiple pages. To err on the side of caution, this book didn’t get interesting until the last 10 pages (I want to say 4, but that could be an exaggeration).

 

5 Books You MUST Read

 

As someone who loves a good book, I actually welcome you all to read the above, especially to be able to discuss my statements. Which of these have you read? How did you feel about them? 

Leave a Comment

