2 Years, and a Night I’ll Never Forget

18 Sep

Just over 2 years ago, I spent an evening with 3 people. It was a night that changed my life, and while it was a tragic situation, it was also a night that brought the 4 of us together. Even if things have now exploded, crashed, and burned, likely because this event set everything in motion, leading us to where we are now…I have fond memories of each of us that evening.

I remember Jessica so kindly telling me that it was time to call the police, and walking me through it because I couldn’t even think of how to find the non-emergency number, and then telling me that her and Andy would of course stay with me until the cops arrived (yes, I actually asked).

I remember being outside, and Andy holding me when the officer announced that yes, my roommate was, in fact, dead.

I remember Tim suggesting Taco Bell at 1 in the morning because I was starving, and me trying my hardest not to toss my cookies at the thought of Taco Bell, then him grabbing my arm and turning me away when the carted out the body.

Before, we made light of it. Andy bought me a dead guy ale, and everyone thought I was crazy because these things don’t happen.

After, I remember so vividly sitting cross-legged on Tim’s couch being so hungry, and declining any offering of food he could throw at me, until he got to pancakes. And then, at 4 am, he went to the store to get milk to make this girl some pancakes.

And then the 4 of us sat there and ate pancakes, trying to absorb and digest what just happened.

It was a night that actually showed me that my friends did care about me. Moments like that are few and far between, and regardless of the tragedy that caused it, I look back fondly on how supportive they were.

Do you have a moment in which you and others were brought together, and you felt so deeply cared for?

2 Responses to “2 Years, and a Night I’ll Never Forget”

  1. buddy71 September 19, 2015 at 4:53 pm #

    some years ago, a women i knew intimately/lovers was hit by a hit and run driver as she was riding her bike. she died. we had known each other for many years, though in the couple of years before her death, we were apart more than together. she had no family, so all the arrangements fell to me. the month of may has never been the same, but the years since have lost their sharpness. but not the memory.

    in time, i hope this situation will lose its sharpness, but you keep the memory for memories become us.

  2. L September 20, 2015 at 10:58 am #

    I honestly wish it didn’t take a tragedy to show who your true friends really are, but it always seems as though that’s the way it works out.

    I can’t say as though I’ve had any similar experiences as I practically have no friends at the moment but when I was in grad school I was just getting ready to go to dance night when I got a call that one of my friends from undergrad had been hit by a drunk driver and was in critical condition. She died later that night and I just lost it. Luckily my dance friends were there to pull me through that night and in the immediate aftermath. Though I only really knew them from the dance club, they were real friends during those following days.

Leave a Comment

