Do You Lock Your Front Door?

6 Jun

Never in my life (until now, I guess) have I locked the door to my house when I’m inside. Pretty much every friend that I have does, and I only have to ask…why??

The likelihood of some stranger waltzing into your house when you’re home seems really unlikely.

But then again…I lock MY front door now. That is only because my landlord will just come on in unannounced. I don’t know why he thinks he has the right to do that, but it is SUPER annoying. And invasive. And I hate it.

So, I lock my front door.

Other than this very specific situation, I think it is a bizarre practice.

Do you lock the door when you’re home? Why?

8 Responses to “Do You Lock Your Front Door?”

  1. buddy71 June 6, 2015 at 9:06 pm #

    in all the places i have lived, my door was locked. not bolted, but the knob to turn to get in was always locked, so when the door was closed, it was locked. where i currently live it isnt locked but my front gate is always locked and one would need to get past that first. my front gate is about a 100 feet from my front door. :)

    • mishie1 June 6, 2015 at 9:52 pm #

      What is your reasoning behind keeping it locked?

      • buddy71 June 7, 2015 at 8:52 am #

        i am not sure why my parents kept it locked, but would guess, since we lived in a urban area or should i say tract homes, my guess is to keep out anyone just from walking in uninvited. my reason would be because that was how i was “taught?” but since most of the time i lived in an apartment or in a residential neighborhood it just seemed to add to the security. do you really want someone access to you and your place who is uninvited, at any time they wish? or only at times you wish? now where i currently live, that is a different story. lol

        • mishie1 June 10, 2015 at 9:54 pm #

          This is interesting. I much prefer people I know just to come in without knocking. If I hear a knock at the door I go into defense mode and I get major anxiety. I’ve never had anyone come into my living area while I’m home that wasn’t a friend, so I didn’t know people did that. I mean…*I* would never waltz into a strangers house when they were sitting in their living room, so why would anyone?

          • buddy71 June 11, 2015 at 9:47 pm #

            i would never just walk into some ones house without knocking unless it was some sort of emergency. even now, before i walk into a residents room, i knock and ask if it is ok to enter.

  2. April June 7, 2015 at 5:11 am #

    I have for the last two decades. It stems from an abusive ex who once literally uttered the words, “If I can’t have you, no one will.” Painfully cliché, but then he expounded on that in gruesome detail so…you know, I don’t make it any easier for him to just walk in. Even hundreds of miles away, it’s a habit that has been hard to let go of.

    Thing is, Little Girl has no such damage so she often just closes the door behind her. I’ve reigned myself in for the most part, but both here and illinois she’s had little friends that will and do just open the door and nd walk right in! Most unnervingly was the time that i was sitting on the couch and LG and her little friend from down stairs came in to play in her room in illinois. I guess her friend’s brothers knew where she was and about 20 minutes later, with no hesitation, my door is yanked open and two boys that I’ve never met before go running through my apartment. WTH?!

    Most mind boggling is the boy here who knows we have a fairly aggressive dog and yet he sees fit to just come on in with no warning. At least when the boys in illinois did it, Fred was put up because the girls were already in the apartment playing. This kid sees a barking dog baring teeth on the other side of the storm door on a regular basis and still just comes right in!

    Many moons ago in Florida one of the boys’ friends walked home from school with them too…but instead of parting ways with them at the door, he apparently pushed inside with them and was hiding in their room until I came in and offered to call the police.

    I don’t “get” that. Any of it. I never even thought and about doing things like that as a kid and my friends certainly never did. I don’t even remember it being something that had to “taught.”

    • mishie1 June 10, 2015 at 9:51 pm #

      All of that is so interesting. Maybe my parents didn’t appreciate it very much, and it really didn’t happen much when I was a kid, but I have a “don’t knock just come in” policy for friends. If I hear a knock at the door I get super paranoid and assume its somebody who wants to either reprimand me or wants something from me or a cop looking for information.

  3. L June 7, 2015 at 8:37 pm #

    I do because I don’t trust people. I also keep a gun in plain view in the window as a warning to any intruders that if they break in they won’t like the results.

    Again, I just do not trust people and I’d much rather be safe than wind up having my home burglarized or be threatened with bodily harm.

Leave a Comment

