Good Things, Bad Habits

25 May

Late last Friday, not too long after midnight, I realized I had a problem.

I was travelling northwest from town, after having had a delicious dinner with a few friends, and on my way home for the night. I had to stop at a stoplight. I was officially out of the city limits, and the lack of streetlights and the consistently overcast weather made it dark.

Something caught my eye. Illuminated only by the stoplight I was at was a man standing in the street. He peaked my curiosity first, as it was such an odd sight and not even close to what I was expecting to see, but when I started motioning me I thought maybe the situation was more dire than I thought.

Nope. He was just drunk and lost, trying to find his friends who were in the part of town I just came from.

Cue my bad habit: I let him into my car and gave him a drive to his destination. Poor fool had been running in the wrong direction for who knows how long. Even he told me I shouldn’t be picking up people (being a woman of my age – funny, pretty sure he was younger than I am).

It really is probably true, but it makes me feel good about myself and the status of society. I’ve picked up around 10 people looking for rides, and for the most part, everyone has been really friendly and appreciative. Everyone talks about serial killers luring in people by “needing a ride”, and all the horrible things that happen, but to someone like me, it just goes to show all the good that can happen. I form a connection with these people, however brief our encounter is, that I know makes them feel that their fellow humans are there for them when they need it. If I was ever stranded, I hope that someone would give me a ride (yes I have hitchhiked successfully).

On the inside, it makes me feel wanted and like I have a purpose. One of my biggest goals is to inspire people, as you all know, and if I inspire someone to maybe take a chance and help someone in need, then great! [And hopefully no one dies.] We’ve all seen those videos about people needing help in public, but due to the psychological phenomenon that causes us to assume we aren’t responsible and anyone else will help them, they never get help. I’ve taken those videos to heart, and when I see someone in trouble I’m responsible and need to help them.

So yes, it is a bad habit, but it is definitely something good.

What is the good thing that you do that is actually a bad habit in practice? Or the bad thing that you do that is actually a good habit? Let me know in the comments!

2 Responses to “Good Things, Bad Habits”

  1. buddy71 May 25, 2015 at 4:46 pm #

    i would say you are a very lucky woman and for your sake, i hope it lasts.
    to me you have a purpose and even though it is only through cyber space, i look forward to reading your posts and knowing you a bit. and fyi, that makes me feel good

  2. L May 26, 2015 at 9:20 am #

    I’ve been known to buy meals for random strangers (usually homeless folk) at times. Yeah, I’ve spent a fair bit doing it but knowing what it’s like to be there myself, I feel as though money in my bank account is less important than them having a good meal.

Leave a Comment

