Musings of a Perpetually Single 25 Year Old

9 May

While taking a nice hot shower this afternoon (I couldn’t get warm any other way), my thoughts drifted to my recently engaged chiropractor. His new fiance shares my name, which made me wonder how old she is. I know he is in his early 30s, but have no reason to actually know how old she is.

That took my thoughts to the other newly weds I know…all of whom are in their early 30s. Suddenly, for the first time, 25 felt really young to be married.

With the wedding of my best friend quickly nearing, thinking about her getting married makes me even feel like we are young. Then, I thought about her having kids, and how it would change everything.

My mind quickly went to another good friend who is having a baby in just about a month. Everything about our friendship is going to change the second that baby comes out. She is the first person I actually hang out with who will be having a baby.

The last time I had a major life change I think was when I started college out of high school, and that feels like forever ago! I’m not ready for another major life change. I like my life. And having friends with no kids.

And to think, I had a mini-crisis when I turned 22 and didn’t have a boyfriend in sight, let alone a husband (23 was my original age I wanted to be married by).

Any major life changes going on? Are you still riding the single wave like I am, or are you on couples isle? Kids? 

8 Responses to “Musings of a Perpetually Single 25 Year Old”

  1. thecuriousbum May 9, 2015 at 8:02 pm #

    I am still single without really any desire for kids. I’ve tried to change myself to be more desirable but kind of crumble under the pressure.

    • mishie1 May 9, 2015 at 9:18 pm #

      Yeah. I have 0 desire to ever have kids. EVER. Which makes it a little worse having my friends now getting to that point in their lives. It’s not like we can have play dates or anything.

  2. heatherm14 May 9, 2015 at 8:56 pm #

    Lol I’m 24, married with a kid. I wouldn’t trade it for anything, yet there are times I wish I would’ve waited on both and had a better chance to experience typical young adult life. Then I realize I did that when I was a teenager and say what the hell.

    • mishie1 May 9, 2015 at 9:19 pm #

      I still don’t know if I’ve managed typical young adult life yet…I look back at 19/20 and I think maybe. Then again…”typical”

  3. April May 9, 2015 at 9:12 pm #

    As we near our first wedding anniversary followed by a baby roughly one month after, we found ourselves in the car tonight, driving home from Home Depot, having been “those people” that come in to have lumber cut at 10 minutes until closing to fix their Ikea snafu. Listening to techno on the radio and sipping our half-price Sonic milk shakes… (1) I had to laugh at us. (2) I wished someone had told me not to be in such a rush to be married and not to settle; this, in all its insane glory, was worth waiting for.

    Hubby and I some times say that we wish we would have met earlier and had more time together, but truth? I’m not sure we would have made it through our younger years. Not through the Navy deployments. Not through his looking for greener grass at every turn. And certainly not through my old insecurities. It happened at exactly the right time for us. /mushy rambling

  4. L May 9, 2015 at 10:11 pm #

    I’m still a 28 year-old, single Episcopal priest in the making and that’s how I’m going to stay. Nothing major changing in that regard for me, and I don’t see it ever changing. IMO, relationships are just too much hassle. It has little to do with being a priest, because Episcopal priests are allowed to marry, but if it is one thing I do like about the Catholic model is that it provides those who enter into the priesthood a lack of distraction. I don’t so much buy into this whole “church bride” theory but it has its merits.

    About the only major life change I’m looking at is a move. I spent five days in Houston last month for a bell ringing workshop/festival and I loved it so much I’m seriously considering moving there. There’s so much more opportunity there, plus a large, active and actually GOOD ringing band. Plus I’m just so sick of all the assholes that live in my current hometown. It’s just awful.

  5. buddy71 May 9, 2015 at 11:24 pm #

    you are on your own path, which will take you where ever it should go. so you dont have kids and you are not married. but you are you and not any of your friends or your friends friends.
    are you generally happy? then why worry.

Leave a Comment

