Harnessing the Artist

3 Apr

I’m not positive that any of my readers know this, friend or otherwise, but this girl considers herself an artist. I tend to post raw, unedited stories and memories and persuasions, but only because I don’t feel the need to edit myself. Whether it is music, or clay, or paint, or words…the facets of art live within me.

As an artist, I find I suffer from the same tragedy that, say, comedians do. My best work is done when I’m at a low point in life. When I’m down, and out…anyone who has ever read a story I’ve written knows that I can’t do happy. Happy endings don’t exist in my writing, no matter how hard I try. I’ll write horror, and suicide, and abuse…and that could very well be due to the state I have to be in for the creative juices to flow. Believe it or not, I’m pretty handy with a pencil when I’m at that low point to…put on the music, get in the zone, and draw it all away.

The hardest part about being an artist is finding that inspiration to make art when you’re happy. I have so many ideas for short stories (I don’t think I could ever write a novel), that my head swims with the ideas. I just can’t put pencil to paper (or fingers to keys) when I’m happy, though. When I try…the quality is crap.

But I don’t want to trade in my happiness for a gift, no more than I want to trade in my gift for happiness.

Writers, painters, musicians…artists out there…have you found a way to harness that feeling of inspiration, even when you’re out of your mood?

2 Responses to “Harnessing the Artist”

  1. buddy71 April 3, 2015 at 8:51 pm #

    i feel you are an artist. but i agree, that my best work is when it comes for the dark times. i think we keep the bad at the surface so we can shed it and be rid of it like dead skin. the good we keep deeper to keep the fire burning.

  2. L April 4, 2015 at 8:07 am #

    Like you, my best work comes at dark times and I find it very difficult to be creative when I’m in a positive mood. It’s frustrating really. I have several poems published in a number of different anthologies and they all have the same theme in common (depression/suicide). Also, most of my paintings tend to be of dark subject matter and use darker colors.

Leave a Comment

