Something Shared

27 Jan

“There are some things you can’t share without ending up liking each other, and knocking out a twelve-foot mountain troll is one of them”

 

That’s a quote from Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s [Alchemist’s] Stone, and I find that it holds a great deal of truth.

While twelve-foot mountain trolls aren’t common over here in the states,  I think that another such thing is unrequited love unexpressed feelings when two people have shared feelings, but for whatever reason, they never developed into an actual, serious, full-time relationship.

It’s almost as if there is a place in each of your hearts, made especially for them, even though you have both long-acknowledged that nothing will ever blossom between you. And you both agree that it’s okay.

I have a friend like that. We both liked each other for a really long time (at least it felt really long), muddled by relationships and distance and life. We talked about it and while we weren’t quite on the same page at the same time, I think we both knew deep down that it couldn’t work. Eventually, we accepted that there is something shared between us that is special, but that we weren’t meant to be together, and we would never be together.

I don’t think this something is dangerous, or threatening. Like the quote said, there are some things you can’t share without liking each other, and I think the shared thing is a knowledge that it won’t work, no matter how crazy you are about each other, and the ‘liking each other’ part is the bond…the connection…you form from sharing that something.

It’s almost as if no matter how old you grow or how far you grow apart, you still have that bond.

Do you have any folks you feel this way about?

2 Responses to “Something Shared”

  1. thecuriousbum January 28, 2015 at 2:26 am #

    No, but I do wonder what kind of impression I’ve made on people. Feels like everyone is drifting away, but maybe that’s in my head.

  2. L January 29, 2015 at 9:00 am #

    A couple of people. One being my most recent ex. It’s something I’ve only recently come to feel (as the sting of heartbreak turned from depression to anger and then finally acceptance). Our relationship ended because she decided she wants children at some point in life, while I do not. As such, we mutually parted ways and realized this was the best thing to do. We were friends about two years before we started dating, and now we both realize that it was a big mistake for us to even consider dating each other.

    I have another female friend I feel similarly about. Though we’ve never dated, we both know it would never work out between us. Again, that’s perfectly OK.

    All in all, I’m at peace with both instances. I’ll never date again so there will no doubt be others I feel similarly about. Again, it’s OK with me. I seem to get along better with women than I do men. I don’t have any close male friends in actuality. :-P

Leave a Comment

