Dear Dad [Rest in Peace]

26 Dec

DSC00466

Dear Dad,

I called you dad, pa, daddy, Roberto, papa. You called me Michelleeanna, Annie, hot rod…Anner Nanner.

You’ve been the best father that a girl could hope for, and you’ve been with me through every moment of my life, big or small. As we go through your belongings, we find things that bring back the best memories…memories I’ll cherish the rest of my life. You may be gone in body, now, but you’ll never be gone in spirit.

The day of my wedding, you’ll be there.
The day I finally buy a house, you’ll be there.
The day I graduate with my next degree…you’ll be there.

You live on in me and my sister, our mother, and your grand children.

I find solace knowing that you are finally at peace, and that your pain has ended. You fought a good fight, Dad, and I knew that no matter the outcome, the day you told me I’m going to fight this damn cancer  that everything would be okay. And I know that as much as I love you, and I admire you that you love me and are proud of me.

Everything I’ve done until this day, and everything I’ll do in the future is to make you and Mom proud of me. You are such a major part of who I are, and who I’ve become. You’re the fire to my phoenix.

I know that you held on as long as you did for us, to make sure we were ready and that we would be okay once you were gone. Thank you for that. I know it was a hard, long struggle. I know you were worried. But we will be okay. I got to spend one last Christmas with my papa, even if you were only hanging on by a thread, even if you couldn’t sit with us next to the Christmas tree…I got to sing Christmas carols to you, and buy you one last Christmas present, and for that I’ll be forever grateful.

I’ll miss you. I love you.

Give ’em hell, Dad

Rest in Peace
12.26.14
2:19 pm

6 Responses to “Dear Dad [Rest in Peace]”

  1. quirkyintrovert December 26, 2014 at 10:23 pm #

    *hugs*

  2. Diana December 26, 2014 at 11:16 pm #

    My thoughts are with you and your family. I wish I could be there to give you a hug. Take care of yourself.

    • mishie1 December 27, 2014 at 5:53 pm #

      Thank you so much, Diana!

  3. thecuriousbum December 27, 2014 at 12:53 am #

    Made me tear up. Keep strong.

  4. wallsofwinterfell December 27, 2014 at 8:31 am #

    I’m so sorry for you loss. My thoughts are with you and your family. May he rest in peace.

  5. L December 27, 2014 at 11:18 am #

    It’s always very difficult when we lose someone close to us, even when we know it’s coming and even when it means an end to an individual’s suffering. None of that makes it any easier, so I won’t reach for those age old platitudes because I know it doesn’t help. I’ll just say I’m truly sorry, and please do allow yourself to grieve. It’s OK, and if you don’t allow yourself to grieve now it will come up again months or even years later.

    It’s OK to feel sad, even maybe angry. It’s OK to cry, and don’t ever let anyone tell you otherwise. We all handle it differently. Do what you need to do. Just don’t try to suppress your feelings.

    Again, so sorry for your loss. My thoughts and prayers are with you and your family right now.

Leave a Comment

