The Real Reason for New Year’s Resolutions

13 Dec

Here it is: my annual New Year’s post.

If you’ve known me for at least a year, you know that under no circumstances do I make “New Year’s Resolutions”. Why? Because, well, why wait until then to do what you can do now?

I do think there is a reason for these resolutions, though, that actually has nothing to do with the beginning of a new year. Think about it…no one sits around in July and is like you know what…I want to get skinny…I’ll start that January 1.

No. People don’t do that. People either say hey…I’m going to start a gym membership and actually DO it, or say hey…I should start working out and DON’T.

This time of year, however, is madness. Halloween, Thanksgiving, Christmas…boom, boom, BOOM. One right after the other, and it barely gives a person time to breathe, let alone think about anything other than parties, food, and gifts.

This, my friends, is the real reason for New Year’s Resolutions. Not to start the year out right, but because January 1 marks the end of the holiday season. You know what my “New Year’s Resolution” is this year? To make an effort to become decent friends with every one of my Facebook friends.

And do you know why I’m waiting until the New Year to start this endeavor? Because I doubled up Christmas parties on Wednesday, have to go Christmas shopping on Saturday, go home the following Wednesday. Christmas is on Thursday. I come back on Saturday. Work is on Sunday.

And then its January 1st. Trying to squeeze in acquaintances and strangers into the mix is pretty impossible when I’m barely able to squeeze in friends and family.

The question is not of if I will succeed and accomplish this task, or if by not keeping it I keep to the stereotypical no-one-ever-keeps-their-resolutions but that it has absolutely nothing to do with beginning a new year on the right foot.

Any resolutions you’ll be starting up after the holiday season? 

6 Responses to “The Real Reason for New Year’s Resolutions”

  1. L December 13, 2014 at 2:56 pm #

    I, too, think New Year’s resolutions are silly, because who the hell ever keeps them? I know I don’t, nor has anyone else ever, really.

    That said, this year has been a total train-wreck for me, so I’m just resolving to having a better year next year. That simple. Since April things have spiraled out of control. When my then-girlfriend and I parted ways it was a very difficult time for me. I’ve been downright depressed ever since to the point of not being able to function. I stopped going to my regular activities for awhile (pipe band, bell ringing, whatever) and am just now getting back to normal. I also slipped off the fitness bandwagon and gained like 40 pounds.

    Alas, I’m taking steps to remedy that now. I’ve started getting back onto the fitness thing with a goal to drop about 20 pounds (truth be told at the weight I was at I was a bit underweight so I needed to gain some weight, just no that much) and I’m now training for a temporary career as a medical transcriptionist. I say temporary because I’m going to use it to get myself re-established and also as a transitional work-from-home career until I’m able to go to seminary (and continuing through seminary), which might be awhile (there aren’t many Episcopalian seminaries around). I also hope to buy a new car this year to replace my 15-year-old hunk of junk, but that might take awhile as I’ll probably have to special order (oh the wonders of being a manual transmission lover; it’s hard to find vehicles on the lot equipped with manual).

    I don’t know, maybe that’s cliche. But whatever. That’s what I’m sticking to.

    • mishie1 December 13, 2014 at 5:04 pm #

      YOU STOPPED GOING TO BELLS!? Wow.

      Yeah…back in August, I decided that the following year was going to be awesome (it was the 1 year anniversary of dead roommate). Then, Dad was diagnosed with terminal cancer. I can’t go forward saying this is going to be the best year ever until Dad passes, because that will be my low point.

      • L December 13, 2014 at 6:13 pm #

        Wow, so sorry to hear that. As the saying goes it rains it pours. Life can have a tendency to suck, can’t it?

        Here’s hoping something good happens in the coming year, and again, I’m so sorry.

  2. quirkyintrovert December 13, 2014 at 5:18 pm #

    I think I’m only going to have one resolution, which is the same one that I had this year. It’s to be more positive. I have made some progress this year, but I know I still have a long way to go.

    • mishie1 December 13, 2014 at 5:39 pm #

      The great thing about a resolution like that, is even if you only are barely more positive…it is still more.

  3. M December 13, 2014 at 7:02 pm #

    We as people have created this traditional almost mystical belief about the new year being a time for a fresh start. That’s why there are so many resolutions this time of year. Resolutions are more or less behavioral modification. We really fail at it because most people lack the combination of knowledge, specificity, and motivation to make a true behavioral modification.

Leave a Comment

