Precautions to take when looking for a room to rent

6 Dec

Musings of a Quirky Introvert

Everything I’m writing here is based on my own experience and, to the best of my knowledge, is true. Throughout this ordeal I’ve had people tell me “life’s lessons are costly,” so I want to share what I have learned with as many people as possible, for free.

Background

In September 2013 I was in desperate need of housing so I replied to an ad for a room on Craigslist. The next evening I went to the apartment to look at the room. The tenant who posted the ad went by Pauline. She told me that there were many people looking at the room, and she can’t save it for me unless she gets a deposit. As I left, she told me to “take your time” to decide if I wanted to rent it. Two days later I returned to sign the rental contract with her, and paid her a…

View original post 1,555 more words

Leave a Comment

