The Selfie Game

21 Nov

Come one, come all!

With the rise of social media, comes the rise in attention to the selfie. Selfies have existed probably as long as the camera, but without a way to post them for the world to see, they went undetected for years.

Take a look at this famous selfie from 1991 by Thelma and Louise.

I did some research via UrbanDictionary to figure out just what constitutes a “selfie”, but the only thing that seems to be true of all selfies is that, of course, you take them yourself. So lets play a little game….I’m going to post some pictures of yours truly, and I want YOU to tell me if they are a selfie or not!

Here we go.

Round 1: Pictures of just me

Rules: Tell me if each picture IS a selfie, or is NOT a selfie.

selfie4

1.

selfie6

2.

selfie9

3.

selfie7

4.

selfie13

5.

Bonus: My blog picture, to the right

Round 2: Pictures of me, with someone

Rules: For each picture, tell me if you think the picture IS a selfie (taken by me) or is NOT a selfie (not taken by me). If you think someone else in the picture took the photo, tell me who.

selfie1

6.

selfie2

7.

selfie8

8.

selfie12

9.

selfie16

10.

selfie3

11.

Bonus Round: Pictures of others

Rules: Tell me if you think the picture IS a selfie (taken by someone in the picture) or NOT a selfie (taken by someone NOT in the picture)

selfie10

12.

selfie14

13.

selfie15

14.

Winner gets a prize! A secret prize. Answers to follow (probably next week).

11 Responses to “The Selfie Game”

  1. Happy Holidays! November 22, 2014 at 11:47 am #

    I wish I had answered this the first time I looked through the photos, because now I fear I have overthought them, but anyway, here are my answers:

    Blog Photo: Selfie
    1 – No
    2 – Selfie
    3 – Selfie
    4 – Selfie
    5 – No
    6 – No
    7 – Selfie
    8 – Selfie
    9 – Selfie
    10 – No
    11 – No
    12 – No
    13 – Selfie
    14 – No

    • April November 22, 2014 at 8:15 pm #

      I need to stop looking at this… I keep waffling on whether or not 13 could be a non-selfie.

  2. April November 22, 2014 at 8:12 pm #

    I’m going with they’re all selfies. But a good picture is still a good picture, regardless of whether or not there’s someone else available to take it. I can haz a massage from that Christopher van Etten guy I’ve been drooling over lately? (Yes, someone has trumphed Channing Tatum.)

    • mishie1 November 22, 2014 at 8:16 pm #

      Awww!! You’re the best!! I really do hope you feel better soon

    • mishie1 November 22, 2014 at 8:19 pm #

      The dude who is missing 1.5 legs?????? He is a cutie! I think his face is much more normal than Channing Tatum, and I’m a sucker for a guy with broken body parts (is that weird??)

      • April November 22, 2014 at 8:22 pm #

        Yes, him. There’s something about him that makes my hand gravitate towards the nearest jar of Nutella. I’m a sucker for a man in , though I don’t think I could handle an actual deployment. (which is weirder is yours is weird. Lol)

        • April November 22, 2014 at 8:23 pm #

          Uniform * goes on there somewhere… Stupid phone.

          • mishie1 November 22, 2014 at 8:28 pm #

            Hahaha! Yes….I, too, am a sucker for a man in uniform but I agree that I don’t think I could handle deployment

  3. Amber November 26, 2014 at 8:08 pm #

    1. Not a Selfie 2. Selfie 3. Not a selfie 4. Selfie 5. Not a selfie 6. Selfie 7. Selfie 8. Selfie 9. Selfie 10. Selfie 11. Not a selfie 12. Selfie 13. Selfie 14. Not a selfie 15.

  4. Amy December 4, 2014 at 11:16 pm #

    1. selfie
    2. selfie
    3. not
    4. selfie
    5. not
    blog photo: selfie
    6. selfie
    7. selfie
    8. selfie
    9. selfie
    10. not
    11. not
    12. not
    13. not
    14. not

    The word ‘selfie’ looks so strange after typing it so many times…

Leave a Comment

