The Changing of the Seasons

27 Sep

 

It’s that time of year again…fall. Often fondly known as Autumn.

It is the favorite time of year of many. Everywhere I go people remark how beautiful it is and how much they love it. And I’m inclined to agree.

But no. It isn’t.

My brain says I love it. I step outside and the sun is at an angle that makes the whole world feel warmer and cozier. The trees are turning brilliant shades of golds and oranges and reds. The nights are cool, but the days are still warm. It’s absolutely brilliant.

My heart, however, does not seem to agree.

When I step outside, I get this horrible sinking feeling. I want to go for a walk or take the dog out, or just sit outside, but I can never bring myself to do so. Sometimes I just want to cry, but most of the time I just want to run back inside and close myself up from the world…maybe take a nap until summer. I wanted to go look at the aspens changing colors today, but then I changed my mind. Decided I didn’t want to leave my house or see people. Then, I feel like I’ve wasted a perfectly beautiful day by spending it inside doing nothing.

That is why fall isn’t my favorite.

What’s your favorite season? Are you ready for another year to be over?

2 Responses to “The Changing of the Seasons”

  1. wallsofwinterfell September 27, 2014 at 5:56 pm #

    My favorite season is spring! I love all the flowering trees and the new buds. I feel refreshed! I also love the fall season. I think in general I love transitions. Change in nature! :)

  2. fadingsunlight September 28, 2014 at 6:25 am #

    I love autumn – it’s the favorite – and I think I can even love winter here. We’ll see… Summer gives me this…electrical charge. I don’t feel like I can describe it well…there’s just…an excitement for Independence Day and BBQs and fireflies that makes me giddy like Christmas morning! But spring? Meh. It seems like it’s just an extension of summer (Florida) or winter (from what I’ve heard about Illinois).

    Truth? The idea of this year drawing to a close made tears spring to my eyes. There’s a bitter sweetness after everything that’s gone on… Yes, it started out terribly and, in those first 5 months, I said loudly and often how much I wanted it to be over. But it’s turned into something wonderful and beautiful at the same time… Ugh!! All I can hope is that the good from the last 4 months spills into the next three and next year too!

Leave a Comment

