My Secrets: A Challenge

21 Aug

I tell you all so many times that I try to be open and honest, that I don’t lie, and that I have nothing to hide. Well, I was listening to the radio the other day and this wonderfully somewhat unrefined song came on by Mary Lambert. All she had to do was sing “I’m overweight. I’m always late.” and I was hooked. Because damn. Am I.

So I sat down tonight, after thinking about myself for a long while, and made my best attempts to alter her song to fit me. Some of the lines I kept (like the ones I just quoted) because they fit me so well. Some I altered only slightly because they are good lines, and kind of rep “me”. And then others I took out completely, because sorry, but the last time I checked (which honestly, was never), I’m not bipolar. Nor am I afraid of the dentist.

Please read. Please enjoy. Song-writing is not my strong suit, so I’m sure its even rougher in places than it was to start with (I liked that quality about this song). And I challenge you to make your own version and share it with us.

Because, as Mary Lambert says about hiding ourselves: I’m over it.

Here is a link to her music video: Mary Lambert – Secrets

I’ve got no money to speak of
I can’t get enough love
I procrastinate
I’m always late
I’ve got too many things to say

I rock bikinis
skinny jeans
Try to suppress my feelings

my motives are questionable 
but my friends and I are there for each other

They tell us from the time were young
to hide the things that we don’t like about ourselves
inside ourselves
I know I’m not the only one who spent so long
attempting to be someone else
well I’m over it

I don’t care if the world know what my secrets are, secrets are
I don’t care if the world knows what my secrets are, secrets are
so what
so what
so what
so what

I’m a fat kid
I like cake
sometimes I hide
my mistakes
Too sensitive
Do my best to live
And never know what I’ll miss

and I’m passive aggressive
I’m scared that my future’s horrendous
I love my butt; you can’t make me shut up
and I’ll never really give up

They tell us from the time we’re young
to hide the things that we don’t like about ourselves
inside ourselves
I know I’m not the only one
who spent so long attempting to be someone else
well I’m over it

I don’t care if the world know what my secrets are, secrets are
I don’t care if the world knows what my secrets are, secrets are
so what
so what
so what
so what

I don’t care if the world know what my secrets are, secrets are
I don’t care if the world knows what my secrets are, secrets are
so what
so what
so what
so what
so what
so what

Please join in this challenge. Comment your song (or link to it). And if you’re brave enough to sing it, I will gladly listen.

Secrets can destroy us from the inside out sometimes, and the best way to get rid of that power they seem to have over us is to scream them to the world and either embrace them, or to free them.

OH!! And share this. Because I really would love if everybody took a moment to think about the things they may hide or alter and realize how silly it may be. 

One Response to “My Secrets: A Challenge”

  1. fat loss secrets of bodybuilders August 28, 2014 at 6:26 pm #

    Heya just wanted to give you a brief heads up
    and let you know a few of the images aren’t loading properly.
    I’m not sure why but I think its a linking issue. I’ve tried it
    in two different browsers and both show the same outcome.

Leave a Comment

