Pickin’ Up Hitch Hikers

30 Jun

Today, with 3/4 of my 40 minute drive home from work, I happened upon a couple of folks on the side of the road. They were at the mouth of the canyon that I now live in, just sticking their arms out with their thumbs up, looking for a ride.

I looked over at my front seat…piled with everything from wine shooters, to pants, to my purse and a 12-pack of soda. The back seat was no better, being piled so high the stuff was level with the back of the seats.

I kept going. There were two of them, after all, and at best I could only clear the front seat. Something inside of me wouldn’t let me keep going, though, so I turned around and doubled back. When I pulled over, I told them what had happened, and explained that I only had one seat. I cleared it, and they both hopped on in.

It was only a few minutes until we reached our destination, but it turns out, these people that were piled on top of one another in the front seat of my car didn’t even know each other! Her name was Laura. His name was Jared. And Jared was quite attractive…if only I’d had enough swagger to get his phone number. They were kayakers, and while I have no idea why they needed a ride, they were both quite thankful.

I’ve come to really enjoy helping people out like this. I don’t know what that feeling is inside that I get…maybe personal responsibility…but I’m glad I get it.

Have you ever given strangers rides or help? How’d it go for you? If you don’t, what would be the exception? 

5 Responses to “Pickin’ Up Hitch Hikers”

  1. fadingsunlight July 1, 2014 at 10:37 am #

    I generally don’t. There were too many bad people in Florida; I guess maybe it’s judgmental, but the people that I’d seen hitch hiking in Florida always looked like they’d just been released from prison. Even giving co-workers rides went back for me on several occasions; one mistook my kindness for interest and attempted to kiss me (He was NOT a “Jared”! EW!!) and another promptly took advantage and was using me as her personal taxi service whenever I wasn’t quick enough to think of an excuse not to go. >.< I don't think I'd be able to turn down a parent stuck on the side of the road though; especially given that we just moved to the land of cornfields and there are sometimes several miles of nothing between houses. I don't know that, if I happened upon it, I'd be able to pass by anyone stranded on the side of the road in the cornfields here. But I guess there are several differences here in the quality of people that I've met in the last two weeks and that there's often literally NOTHING around for such great distances. If your phone is dead or outside of reception, you'd be screwed. That isn't the case where we're from in Florida.

    • mishie1 July 12, 2014 at 5:16 pm #

      Yeah…I have picked up one super creepy person ever, and I’m surprised that didn’t scar me for life. If I didn’t live in the canyon, and see so many people doing outdoorsy things all the time, I would probably be reluctant to give anyone a ride…but I have already picked up another fella since I posted this. I’m such a sucker.

  2. tictact0e0 July 4, 2014 at 10:27 pm #

    (smiles) pretty awesome what you did there, and also, I missed hearing from you, glad to you’re still posting (grins)

    • mishie1 July 12, 2014 at 5:14 pm #

      Yeah…its been weird and crazy and I don’t know what else…but I’m trying to keep up with posting. I feel like I have everything and nothing to say at the same time!

      And thank you :)

      • tictact0e0 July 13, 2014 at 4:02 pm #

        I feel the same way, or that I’m too busy to post anything these days, sighs…

Leave a Comment

