DIY Nautical Net-Covered Bottle

11 May

When I moved to this new house, I decided I wanted something different for my bathroom than how I’d decorated it previously. When I took my colors course, I made this little mood-board, and liked it so much that I decided to take it to the next level.

Deep Sea Abyss Bathroom

 

I like it because it’s masculine, but also because it is less “sea-side” nautical, and more deep sea, old-world nautical.

But, because it’s a little less ordinary than your normal sea-themed bathroom, I’ve had difficulty finding good accessories that are affordable. I made decorated my own shower hooks (tutorial to come, soon), my own shower curtain, and I’ve had to gather odds and ends. Most recently, I came across a bottle similar to the one pictured at the beginning of the post, and I loved it. I already had a use for a glass bottle, but to dress it up like that would be great!

As I do frequently, I set about the interwebs to find a tutorial on how to do it. I found an okay one, but the knotting was less-than-desirable. So, here we go.

First, you’ll need some sort of rope – I used jute. Tie it around the neck of your bottle and knot however you feel most comfortable. It needs to be a little loose, so that you can tie other pieces of rope to it. (Sorry for the poor quality pictures – my camera was dead, so I had to use my broken cellular device.)

Next, cut several pieces of rope, 3-4 times longer than your bottle or jar. I used 5, but you could also go as high as 8-10 depending on how big your jar is. I also went 4 times longer – I tried 3 times longer the first time, and had to start over. Too long of rope is much better than too short of rope, so do what feels most comfortable.

Fold each piece of rope in half, and slip it under the rope tied around the next of the bottle, evenly spacing them.

Then, bring the loose ends up through the loop, and tighten (I’m sure there is a name for this knot, but I don’t know what it is). Do this to all of your strands.

Next, take two strands that are adjacent strands from different knots and twist them once. Then, tape the twisted part down or it won’t stay.

The tape is very necessary. And this part of the process is where the other tutorials I found failed. They had a different way to knot, and with the size of my rope, it did not look good at all. If you want to try it, this is what that knot looks like:

So continue the twisting and taping around your jar, until one row is done. Then, do the next row, and then the next. Make sure you tape, or this can be frustrating.

Once you get to the bottom, make another circle out of the jute rope. You can make it small so that it is smaller than the base of your jar, or you can make it the same size. I did mine at roughly the same size, and I don’t have any strong feelings one way or another.

Then, you are going to knot the loose ends onto the circle. I don’t have a great way to show this process, but find a knot you like, and stick with it. I looped the loose ends from the outside and under the circle. Then, I put the ends through the loop made by the opposite end when you go under the circle. Then, I simple just did a single knot and pulled. I went around the circle on opposite sides so that the pull was constant (like when you change a tire).

And voila! Now, you just have to find something fun and pretty to put in your jar.

I filled mine with shower bombs.

What do you think of the finished product? Do you know if there is a better day to do this, or a knot that would make things so much easier? 

4 Responses to “DIY Nautical Net-Covered Bottle”

  1. tictact0e0 May 11, 2014 at 11:44 pm #

    impressive! (smiles)

    • mishie1 May 12, 2014 at 10:17 am #

      Thank you! It did cause me a little frustration in the beginning.

  2. Rev. Justin November 4, 2014 at 5:42 pm #

    The knot you used is called a larks head knot.It is simple and has endless uses. For an alternative to your crown knot (the one you used on the main part of the bottle) try ply-splitting – passing the ends through the twist of your string.
    Watch the video on you-tube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w4SbBpDa7QE Listen to what he says about only learning one knot!

    • mishie1 November 5, 2014 at 6:53 pm #

      Thank you so much!!

      I would love to learn more knots, and believe you me…knowing the names is SO much easier!!

Leave a Comment

