The 9 o’clock Caller

20 Apr

When I moved into my new apartment, every once in awhile the corded (yes, corded) phone would make a weird chirping sound. I assumed it was due to an unchecked voicemail message, but had no idea how to check it. It was my landlord’s phone, too, so I didn’t even know if I should check it.

Then, one day, I went up and had a chat with my landlord, and asked him how to check the voicemail – I told him about the weird chirping. He then told me he doesn’t even use his voicemail, and asked me if the chirping happened around 9 o’clock.

I told him yes. And he told me that we receive a phone call every night right around 9.

I thought it was weird, but dismissed it (and later figured out how to check the voicemail).

Then, he gave me a cordless phone that he didn’t use so I could see who was calling. It was then that I came to the realization that yes, someone calls every night at 9:12.

On the dot.

My corded phone was a late ringer, so it barely rang, so I barely noticed. The cordless phone picks up the call right away, though, so it rings once, and the call ends. I know what you’re thinking – why don’t I just check the caller ID? Well…one ring isn’t enough to get information for the caller ID to work.

One night not terribly long ago, I was sitting here bored and decided I should try to answer it, so I picked up the phone and kept my eye on the clock. As I sat and thought about it, I decided that maybe I shouldn’t answer the phone. I mean, who knows who or what might be on the other end? So I sat the phone down, and watched patiently as it rang once.

And every time I have someone over, I casually make a comment when the phone rings “oh…it must be 9:12.” Because it is.

Would you answer the phone? What do you think will happen when if I do? Has anything like this ever happened to you? Thoughts on what might be going on?

6 Responses to “The 9 o’clock Caller”

  1. Stargirl April 20, 2014 at 9:39 pm #

    Annnnnnnnnd now I won’t be sleeping for a while tonight. LOL If it’s been that exact same time on the dot every single night, it’s either something automated or it’s a super creepy person with nothing better to do. Or a ghost. Hell, I’d just pick it up, but not say anything first… then maybe say something next time if nothing happens, lol

    • mishie1 April 21, 2014 at 7:10 pm #

      I’m just worried that once I pick up, it will tie into something else and be the signal that someone is going to come kill me…which is silly..but STILL!

  2. buddy71 April 20, 2014 at 9:51 pm #

    i would pick it up and see what happens from there

  3. tictact0e0 April 21, 2014 at 10:56 am #

    Make for an awesome scene in a horror movie!

    • mishie1 April 21, 2014 at 7:09 pm #

      RIGHT!?

      I’m just thinking…what if it is someone monitoring the house…and then I pick up and they are like BINGO SOMEONE IS HOME and they come and kill me…*shivers*

  4. fadingsunlight April 22, 2014 at 11:49 am #

    I would assume that it’s something automated malfunctioning. But still…odd.

Leave a Comment

