Inspiring Stories – Not My Inspiration

28 Feb

Yesterday I was listening to the radio in the car with a couple of friends, and the female DJ mentions “a story that is so inspiring you won’t want to miss it.”

I mention to my friends that I never find these “inspiring stories” all that inspiring – and it’s true!

Okay, so you made it around diversity. You are the first female whatever it may be. Or the first gay so and so. Or you’ve overcome your disability. That’s great, really! But to me…it’s either never really remarkable or it’s never really attainable.

Maybe I just can’t relate.

That’s not to say I don’t get inspired by people – I do – it just isn’t these stories that people make bad decisions, and overcome them, or lost a limb and can run now, or grew up in a bad part of town and are now rich.

My inspiration comes from stories about normal people, doing really normal things, and feeling really normal ways. I just watched a show about this young married couple who bought their first home and were ecstatic. Their emotion made me well up.

Have you heard those commercials talking about adopting a foster child, and how you “don’t have to be perfect, to be a perfect parent”? Those inspire me so much and make me want to spend time with my kids…and I don’t even have kids!

Even people doing things that they are already good at inspire me to do what I love.

I guess what I’m saying is I don’t need extraordinary things to inspire me – normal is good enough.

What inspires you? What’s your favorite inspirational story? 

2 Responses to “Inspiring Stories – Not My Inspiration”

  1. girlforgetful February 28, 2014 at 12:35 pm #

    Hmmm … I suppose it can be as simple as someone having a really positive attitude. It inspires me to try to do the same. I’m sort of a cynic/pessimist by nature. I love those over-the-top stories, but yea, I’m not likely to achieve anything of such amazingness so I can’t relate either.

    • mishie1 February 28, 2014 at 1:04 pm #

      Ha. Yeah, I’m quite cynical, too.

Leave a Comment

