Miley Cyrus: A Wreck?

17 Oct

Forgive me for my choice of topic. I don’t generally like to write about celebrities, especially ones that have a status similar to that of Miss Miley Cyrus, but I felt I needed to share something.

For those of you who haven’t heard her newest song “Wrecking Ball” or haven’t seen the music video, I strongly urge you to find it on YouTube before reading on.

To give perspective on how I feel about this video, I will first say that I have never been a fan of Miley, whether on TV or in music. Before I even realized I was listening to her song, I was irritated by it and had to change it.

Then I watched the music video.

I will say that the music video is not good, but it is much better (as is the song) than anything I have ever seen or heard from her. If she continues in a similar manner, and works to improve herself and her music, she might actually be able to be a respected music artist.

The reason I liked the video is that during certain parts, it was actually artistic and spoke to the pain of what the song seems to be about. Of course, Miley over-sexualized it (or her producers, or whoever) when really, this song isn’t a sexy song. When she hits the wall with the sledge hammer – stunning – but when she licks it, I just want to punch her in the face because it is so unnecessary. Even her nudity is acceptable, as it speaks to the vulnerability of being in a relationship, and the pain sometimes associated with it. The grinding on the chain of the wrecking ball is, again, unnecessary. And I don’t find her to be a terribly amazing actress, so the close-ups of her face are a little uncomfortable to watch. I could go on and on about things I don’t like, too…but I’ll leave it at that.

Here is to not hating on the girl that much for her newest song and video, and hoping that some of the crazy might be over and that we will see better music from her.

What do you think of Miley and her latest song and video?

One Response to “Miley Cyrus: A Wreck?”

  1. fadingsunlight October 21, 2013 at 11:20 am #

    I just see her heading in the Britney Spears direction… I would love to see her turn it around (the boys adored ‘Hannah Montana’) and I believe she could…I’m just not sure that she will.

Leave a Comment

