Social Exhaustion

15 Oct

As an introvert, being in social situations can be exhausting. It isn’t that I dislike the social situations, however, and therein lies the problem.

Currently, I’m at a state where I’m forcing myself to see people. I would love to just hide away and do my own thing for at least a few days, and while I try and try…I know in my heart that I really should hang out with friends.

Hm…but should I? At what point am I not being true to myself and keeping myself healthy and sane? And maybe that feeling that I should want to hang out with people is just extrovert propaganda and proof that we live in a society that doesn’t understand the introvert.

Point being: I’m exhausted. Mentally, physically exhausted. And so far, my evenings are booked all the way into the weekend.

How do you deal with social exhaustion? Do you force yourself to hang out with people, even if you really just want to enjoy alone time? Why? Why not?

4 Responses to “Social Exhaustion”

  1. bagpipesandbells October 15, 2013 at 10:28 pm #

    If you’re an introvert, that’s what you are. This whole concept that we all should be social butterflies is nothing more than propaganda, as you said. Some of us aren’t geared that way. I know I sure as hell am not that way.

    I’m an extreme introvert. I don’t really have any friends with the exception of my girlfriend and aside from pipe band once per week and bell ringing twice per week I don’t really leave my house. And you know what? That’s just the way I like it. I don’t like being part of large crowds.

    You’re right that society doesn’t really understand introverts, and in some ways, assigns them some sort of bogus pathology. There’s this major misconception that introverts have “something wrong” with them when in reality there’s nothing really wrong. Trust me, I feel your pain. It’s irritating and it’s stupid.

  2. thecuriousbum October 16, 2013 at 12:57 am #

    I like being around people maybe once a week or less. Right now I don’t have any friends I can meet, though, and my hobbies are rather solitary so there aren’t a ton of opportunities to meet anyone.

  3. Perpetual Musings October 16, 2013 at 7:07 am #

    As a fellow introvert, it’s important that I take ample time to recharge my batteries (yay, me time!) It’s really not all that complicated when you quit thinking about “social norms” and start thinking about what you need in each present moment.

    When social situations start to feel like they’re dragging on, it’s okay to remove yourself. No need to explain to anybody, if that’s what you’re worried about. Whatever you do in your time alone is nobody else’s business, and it’s nothing to feel guilty about. Don’t even keep track of how long it’s been, when you’re ready to be a social butterfly again, you’ll feel the need to be around people again like an itch you can’t scratch and it will feel good rather than exhausting.

    I used to have a terrible habit of over-planning. After a long week, my weekends would be packed and I felt dread. While I met my obligations, I’d be watching the clock thinking, when will it be okay to leave? Will I offend who I’m with? Yada yada. It took me a long time to realize that I don’t need to try so hard to cram life into my schedule. I don’t plan anymore, unless a friend is visiting from another city, and school, work, appointments, etc. That way I’m free to decide.

  4. Daniel B. October 16, 2013 at 4:22 pm #

    I try to get myself out if I can, but after working all day and talking to people, most nights I like to workout and then come home. I prefer to hang out on the weekend when I have more free time. It kind of depends. Right now I am just starting to get out and do more than see movies by myself, which was what I had to do my first few months in this new town. But usually, I dont mind going out about a night or two in a week. Most of my friends respect me being an introvert and I will try to schedule something with them. To me, scheduling makes time for us to focus on us and our friendship. I dont mind being spontaneous but most days my energy is depleted and so I dont feel like doing much during the week after work and exercising.

Leave a Comment

