The Idea of Moving

13 Oct

Originally, moving was not in my game plan. Even still I’m a little reluctant.

The house I live in now kind of fell into my lap. I couldn’t have asked for a more relaxed landlord, but unfortunately I haven’t been living in my house for 7 weeks. Even that hasn’t been a driving factor, and now that I have internet at the place I’m staying, there is pressure to actual go back to reality.

And the reality of it all is that I’m worried that I’ll never be able to get my friends into my house again. I shouldn’t try to appease them, but really…that’s the only reason I have even considered looking for a new place. Everyone thinks its the best idea, and the best thing for me, but all I see is having to move a ton of furniture and stuff, and having to live with strangers and meet people all over again. It’s overwhelming, really…and now, more than ever, I worry about roommates.

If I could find a 1 bedroom house with a yard that accepts pets in my price range, I would jump on it. But that’s so, so hard to find.

What would you do? Should I appease my friends and move, or should I stick to my guns and tell them to get over it?

2 Responses to “The Idea of Moving”

  1. fadingsunlight October 14, 2013 at 11:18 am #

    There’s a couple of things that I would consider here… 1.) Do they have a, “You can move back in on X-day.” date or are they still battling with the insurance company? Personally, I would be tweaked if I couldn’t live in, well, my home for an undetermined amount of time. 2.) How often do you have friends over? i.e. Would it be the end of the world if a few of them declined to come over? I know someone on FB suggested that they take this opportunity to host a few gatherings. Is that a possibility? If the answers are, “I don’t know when I’ll actually get to live there again. I enjoy having my friends over several times per week and they wouldn’t be able to host our gatherings.” Then I would start to seriously consider moving.

    If you know when (and it’s an acceptable amount of time to you) you’re going to be able to live there again and you’re okay with it; perhaps including living with the deceased’s BFF, then, no, it doesn’t sound like it’s worth the hassle to move. Let your friends host or find neutral spots that you might be able to get together. I’m sure some of them won’t care and maybe, in time, all (or at least most) of them will get to place of, “Okay, this thing happened here and it’s okay. It happens. It’s sad, but…it happens. Casper isn’t going to grab my ankles on my way to the bathroom.”

  2. Daniel B. October 14, 2013 at 4:04 pm #

    Its tough, that’s for sure! On the one hand I want a roommate to save money and be more social. On the other hand, I like my privacy and also dont want to be stuck with the full rent should my roommate leave. For now, I live by myself. My Lease at my current place will be up again in June, so in April and May I may start looking at cheaper places and the possibility of a roommate. But, I would be totally picky and tell them I might spend a fair amount of time in my room. Pretty much if I found a two bedroom, two bath, with a shared living room that would be the best. Hope it works out for you!

Leave a Comment

