Death of a Roommate: One Month Later

24 Sep

First of all, this isn’t going to be a life update. I will save that for when everything is finalized and done.

It has actually been a little over a month, but I haven’t really had the time to post an update. In this month (actually 6 weeks on Friday), I lived with a couple I am friends with for a week, and the remainder of the time I have been living with another good friend (bless his heart for putting up with me for so long). My doggy and my kitties are currently living with my parents.

It has been interesting, but definitely not bad.

The reason I haven’t been living in my house is because the insurance company hasn’t come to an agreement on how much they will spend to repair the damages. Three of the four companies who have done quotes for my landlord have given an estimation of 50,000 dollars in repairs to make the house liveable again. Included in that cost are things like carpet replacement, air filtration, and removing asbestos they found in the ceiling (really, universe…really!?).

It almost feels like I am living in some strange dream when I think of how long it has been since I have been misplaced. And sometimes I don’t even know if I really want to go back to reality.

Well, that’s all I have for you…at least until I update you on my actual life, which will come later. And until then, I don’t suppose I will be blogging much more than I currently am.

See you soon [hopefully].

7 Responses to “Death of a Roommate: One Month Later”

  1. fadingsunlight September 24, 2013 at 2:42 pm #

    Do they know what happened to the roommate?

    • mishie1 September 24, 2013 at 3:48 pm #

      The report hasn’t been finalized yet, but I’m pretty sure it was self-inflicted.

      • fadingsunlight September 24, 2013 at 7:00 pm #

        :-/ That’s strange…he was the one that had pretty much just moved in, right? Then locks himself in his room and…yeeesh. :-(

        • mishie1 September 26, 2013 at 10:39 am #

          Yup, thats the one. Just found out his bestie was supposed to move in, and I guess he still wants to…which is super weird.

          • fadingsunlight September 26, 2013 at 11:21 am #

            O.o Yeah…odd. Are you planning on going back?

            • mishie1 September 27, 2013 at 9:52 am #

              Yeah, but when that will be I have no idea.

  2. Krissy September 25, 2013 at 6:04 pm #

    :( That’s got to be tough all around. Hopefully they figure stuff out soon so you can get back to living your life. Having to deal with the loss of someone and being homeless is just…ew. I don’t have words.

Leave a Comment

