My Decision to Postpone College

28 Aug


When I was in 3rd grade, I made a decision that affected the rest of my life. I decided, at the ripe old age of 9, that I was going to pursue veterinary medicine as my career. To this day, that has remained my goal.

I finally finished classes for my bachelors degree, but that isn’t even close to my goal. At this point, I still have 6 years of college ahead of me, as I am going to get my vet tech certificate before going to vet school.

Originally I planned on beginning at the local community college in the fall following the completion of my bachelors, but that ended up being pushed back to the spring. In retrospect, I think that was the better decision – after being in school for 18 years, a break is inviting and welcome.

And that brings me to the present. I’ve reached a point at my current job at which I find myself unable to advance or grow, and that is, in a word…unfortunate. The unfortunate part of it all is that I don’t feel as though I am done with my non-profit job. I like the work we do, but I can’t handle another year if scooping poop and scrubbing floors.

Call me conceited, but I think I’ve paid my dues.

But, because of my decision to go back to school, I can’t work any other position at my current company.

That is why I have decided to wait until next fall to continue my education.

First, if I get the position I am applying for, I will have the opportunity to work hand-in-hand with a certified dog behaviorist. That isn’t an opportunity that comes around every day.

Second, I need a break. I need to want to study. I need to miss the knowledge.

And finally, I need to be a young adult for a while. All I have known is barely scraping by because I am going to school full time and working the rest of the time just to be able to pay bills. I want to enjoy being on my own, and being an adult, and being a 20-something while I am still a 20-something. When I finish college, I will be about 31. That’s too old to not have had some life me time.

What do you think of my decision? Are my reasons valid? What has your experience with school and your career been?

7 Responses to “My Decision to Postpone College”

  1. buddy71 August 28, 2013 at 8:31 pm #

    i think you are doing a good thing.

  2. fadingsunlight August 28, 2013 at 8:37 pm #

    “I need a break. I need to want to study. I need to miss the knowledge.” I think that’s a very valid point. I get a little twitchy when people think they don’t want to go to college straight out of high school. I’m all like, “SERIOUSLY?! GO! See what it’s like! That way you won’t be intimidated later and end up not getting your bachelor’s until you’re into your 30’s like some blond bimbo I know…” But…you’ve gone. You more than know what you’re in for. You just need a break so that you don’t burn out. I can completely support that — yes, me! The further-education-humper that I am! LOL <3

  3. bagpipesandbells August 28, 2013 at 8:48 pm #

    I think it’s fine. I took a gap year between undergrad and grad school. It’s entirely reasonable to do, plus it’ll give you time to ask yourself if you really want to do this.

    Of course, this coming from someone who now regrets going to college to begin with so take my opinion with a grain of salt. I’m generally anti-college/higher education and go out of my way to try to dissuade people from going to college to begin with, but you’ve already got some under your belt, you’re never going to pay down your debt anyway, so what’s a bit more in debt? Just be sure it’s what you want.

  4. isitrealno August 28, 2013 at 9:38 pm #

    I like your decision. I went straight from school to uni, which I don’t regret but I then got a job as soon as I graduated and started two weeks later. I wish I had taken a little more time. But its all good now. No regrets :) good luck!

  5. thecuriousbum August 29, 2013 at 1:36 am #

    I think it’s a good thing to do. Doubt I will have anything new to add. As far as my own experience, I earned an associates and my username says the rest :D

  6. Daniel B. August 29, 2013 at 5:16 pm #

    I had a semester break between college and grad school myself, of course, it was because I didn’t get into the program I first wanted, but life (of God, if your religious like me, ha!) has a way or working things our differently than you planned. One thing I learned after undergrad was you have to be flexible in life, not just in your jobs but also in dealing with yourself. Sometimes we need to be hard on our self to get things done and other times we need to have grace on our self, give self some freakin air and room to breath already. I hope you will learn some things this year and be ready and energized to start again next year!

  7. wallsofwinterfell August 31, 2013 at 10:38 pm #

    I think you are making a smart decision! Plus you are not really “taking a break,” you’re still working towards your goal of being a vet by getting some experience. I have a friend who became a vet, she actually went to school in Canada and is now working in the States. She was done by the time she was 28!

    It can be daunting thinking about the next several years but time can sneak past quickly! Before you know it you’ll be 31! LOL j/k.

Leave a Comment

