The Roommate Chronicles: Dealing with Death

19 Aug

I’m not sure even where to start.

I guess I can start at the beginning.

At the beginning of this month, I got a new roommate. I saw him every day for a little over a week, and then my life started to get even busier than it already is. Parties, friends, work, friends, stuff…you know how it goes.

Then, as it started to kind of slow down a tiny bit, I noticed something was wrong. I hadn’t seen him recently.

The feeling came as a smell first. Then it came as flies. Then, I panicked.

But I have great friends, and being who I am, sometimes I just need someone to talk me down and make me actually accept the logical reasons I’ve pushed to the back of my mind as actuality, and that’s just what they did.

But then, it was all validated. On Friday night, at just about midnight, the police came to my house, and discovered that my new roommate was dead in his room.

He’d been there for 5 days.

It’s kind of surreal to get that news, no matter how sure you are that’s what is wrong. Going into this situation that night, two of my friends made attempts to find him themselves, and I’m so glad they didn’t. I would feel terrible if they had been traumatized like that because of me.

I’m so thankful that door was locked.

When I started this series, I never imaged that I would be writing about this. And I almost don’t know what else to say.

Death isn’t something I’ve ever really had to cope with, and while this situation is a little different – I didn’t know him – I still need to deal with the situation.

One second, I’m over it and I just want to go home and continue with my normal routine. The next second, I’m clinging to the friends I was with that night, wishing that they never had to leave my side.

I’m currently staying at one of their houses, because my house is kind of uninhabitable at the moment, but as the week wears on I’m not sure what the next step is.

They keep telling me I need to move, but I don’t really feel that’s necessary. And I don’t know when I’ll be able to go back to my house, but the one I’m staying at kind of has an expiration date that’s coming quickly, and the other friend I can stay with will be out of town when that happens. I’m in weird limbo, and I don’t like it.

Maybe I’ll have more to say later. Maybe this is all there is.

13 Responses to “The Roommate Chronicles: Dealing with Death”

  1. fadingsunlight August 19, 2013 at 9:52 am #

    O.o … I have no words. I’m sorry.

  2. thecuriousbum August 19, 2013 at 10:34 am #

    Wow, that sucks.

  3. erikamsteele August 19, 2013 at 11:31 am #

    That must have been scary. I have no words but I do kind of agree with your friends that you should move.

  4. M August 19, 2013 at 7:11 pm #

    Sorry to hear that. Very sad. Did they say how he died?

    • mishie1 August 19, 2013 at 9:49 pm #

      Not yet. Foul play has been ruled out, but that’s it.

  5. M August 19, 2013 at 7:11 pm #

    Reblogged this on thefrogster.

  6. Perpetual Musings August 19, 2013 at 8:41 pm #

    I can’t even fathom this happening to me. It’s good you didn’t know him very well, or the trauma would have been incalculable. What was the cause of death, do you know?

    Personally, I would ride it out. See what kind of vibes you get from being in the apartment when you return. If it doesn’t feel right then it’s time to go, but if you can live with it why go through the trouble of moving?

    • mishie1 August 19, 2013 at 8:52 pm #

      That’s kind of how I feel about the whole thing. Right now they aren’t sure how he died, but foul play has been ruled out (very, very good).

  7. quirkyintrovert August 19, 2013 at 9:39 pm #

    Oh my, that sounds quite traumatizing. I’m sorry that you’re going through this right now.

  8. doesitevenmatter3 August 20, 2013 at 12:16 am #

    This is so sad, scary and traumatizing. :-(
    When we meet someone we never know what they are battling with in their heart or head.
    HUGS

  9. Stargirl August 20, 2013 at 6:21 pm #

    Wow. I think I would fall apart knowing I’d been going about my business with a dead body just a few feet away for 5 days. I couldn’t return to the apartment either. :( I think your friends are right, you should probably move just for your own well-being if nothing else.

  10. isitrealno August 21, 2013 at 3:08 am #

    Oh my god. Sending you my best wishes. How confronting! Don’t want tobe iinsensitive but did he kill himself ? Wow though I just can’t believe that. I’d probably move even if I didn’t know the person well or whatever, but everyone’s different.

    • mishie1 August 21, 2013 at 10:58 am #

      Thats kind of what we are thinking at this point, but we haven’t really been updated.

Leave a Comment

