Overprotective Parents

14 Aug

I wouldn’t generally consider my parents overprotective, but growing up with overprotective parents is much different than having overprotective parents as an adult.

I’ve always been a very independent person, and my parents have always acknowledged that and respected it. So when they pull the we’re worried about you card all of a sudden, it kind of catches me off-guard.

Not that I don’t think they worry about me. I know they do, but when they try to interfere with what I’m doing, that’s when it gets weird.

I’m planning a trip in September that involves 4 nights/5 days of hiking and camping, and I’m doing it alone. Apparently my mom and dad don’t like that idea, because when I called my mom a couple of days ago, she requested that I sleep in hotels instead.

They don’t want me to camp alone. It’s understandable why someone would worry, but I can’t afford 4 hotels. They can’t afford 4 hotels. I just don’t understand how they can expect this.

In one hand, my parents are basically offering to pay for 3 nights of hotels for me. On the other hand, I was kind of excited to camp for 3 nights. It’s really bothering me, and I don’t know what to do or how to handle it. My parents have never interfered with plans like this before. I can’t help but feeling like they don’t understand that I have no one to go with (which is kind of embarrassing to admit); I don’t think I know anyone who would actually make an effort to go with me.

Should I give in to my parents request and sleep in hotels instead of camping? Should I just camp, and how do I tell them to get over their worrying? Ever had a situation where your parents/friends/significant others do things way out of character? How did you handle it?

14 Responses to “Overprotective Parents”

  1. isitrealno August 14, 2013 at 10:30 pm #

    I wouldn’t know what to do either, well Iwwould camp if that’s what I wanted to do actually. My parents know that I won’t do what they say anyway even if it comes from a caring place lol but camping and hiking by yourself is really scary. Where are you going and how come no ones going with you,? Admittedly I’m going on a trip soon but I’m taking a friend with me, its just not safe to go by myself.

    • mishie1 August 15, 2013 at 2:04 pm #

      I’m going on a road trip through Colorado, starting in Fort Collins, down to Glenwood Springs, then back up through Steamboat Springs. I’d be lying if I said I didn’t want someone to go with, but I’m single and no one I know would take a week off of work and/or school to come, especially because I don’t have a single, awesomr destination like skiing or the Grand Canyon or something.

      • isitrealno August 15, 2013 at 4:18 pm #

        Haha aw that sucks, I’m all for trips like that. I’d go if I was over there lol well I hope you have a fun time whatever you decide to do :)

        • mishie1 August 15, 2013 at 11:36 pm #

          I appreciate it! Thank you! :)

  2. autumnstrength August 15, 2013 at 12:33 am #

    Can’t you camp on camping sites, where there are lots of people? I guess it all depends on whether you think their concerns are reasonable and whether you honestly think you’re putting yourself in danger that isn’t worth the risk.

    • mishie1 August 15, 2013 at 2:05 pm #

      I don’t really consider it dangerous. I’ll be at actual campgrounds each night.

      • autumnstrength August 16, 2013 at 5:58 am #

        I imagined you’d just be hiking and setting up a tent in the wilderness where animals can eat you while you sleep. I don’t see anything wrong with sleeping on a campsite. That’s what they’re there for. I’d probably just take a knife or something for protection.

  3. Krissy August 15, 2013 at 4:53 am #

    Are you an experienced camper? That’s a solid chunk of time to be alone in the woods. Their view point is pretty understandable actually. I’m sure my parents, who have always given me a lot of freedom to be independent, would have the same thoughts. I’d decide what you think works best for you. I’d probably offer to hike out once or twice to call and check in if it’s that big of a concern though.

    • mishie1 August 15, 2013 at 2:07 pm #

      I’m not an experienced camper, but I won’t be that far from civilization at any point in time. Each night that I’m camping will be in a different location and at a campground with water and toilets. And I drive some place new each day, and am bound to go through cities with WalMart and grocery stores, so I’m not going to die from lack of anything.

      • Krissy August 15, 2013 at 3:25 pm #

        I’d just compromise and tell them you’ll call daily then.

  4. erikamsteele August 15, 2013 at 5:34 am #

    My parents were and are overprotective. I think I would just go camping. The way I see it is bad things can happen in a hotel room, too. I would just tell your parents the precautions you are taking to stay safe, and the things the campground has to ensure campers and hikers are safe.

    • mishie1 August 15, 2013 at 2:09 pm #

      See, thats kind of how I feel…I dont want to be shut up in a sketchy hotel room all night.

  5. purplepoet7 August 15, 2013 at 7:10 pm #

    My parents are the same way, but I’m sure you’ll take reasonable precautions. We can’t live in fear, but we can carry knives in our boots just in case.

  6. Perpetual Musings August 16, 2013 at 7:39 am #

    I assume this trip is something you’ve got to do, for you. If they’ve never interfered with your life like this before, why should they start now? Camping at actual campsites, which I’m reading in the comments is where you’ll be, is not dangerous. You’ll get scared maybe, but that’s all part of it. Just make sure you are prepared for any given situation and emergencies. Reassure your parents that you’re a big girl, and there’s a big world out there that you have to explore.

Leave a Comment

