I Need Your Help!

12 Aug

I feel like it’s time to revamp my blog. It’s been a good few years since I did such on Xanga, and when I created this one I stuck with the same basic theme.

My tagline, however, is from 2005. I was…15…

I’m having trouble deciding if I should keep my current format so that everything I do, everything I want to do, everything I think and say are kept in the same blog (like they are now), or if I should expand and begin dividing my attentions.

One blog, which shall remain nameless until I make my decision, would be my main stuff – life events, questions, thoughts, relationships, etc.

The other blog, which has yet to be named, would be a space for fashion, tutorials, sewing, DIY, food, pictures, and things of that nature.

So…help me out. Whatcha thinking?

8 Responses to “I Need Your Help!”

  1. autumnstrength August 12, 2013 at 10:45 am #

    I think it should be all in one – thoughts on life mixed with things you like to do, so it’s like a blog ALL about you.

  2. fadingsunlight August 12, 2013 at 1:24 pm #

    I pondered the same thing for a while and ended up going with the all-in-one kinda thing. The draw back is that if you’re working on a project that’s going take multiple posts (like 21 days of the gym), you have to try to stay focused on that one thing for the duration. But, for me, the idea of tackling one thing at a time seemed easier than trying to keep up with posting regularly on multiple blogs. Some people, on the other hand, need multiple irons in the fire at all times to stay motivated and keep going. Are you done with school? Are you taking Fall classes? Do you feel like you would have enough content to support two blogs? Does the idea of having to post at least once per week in two+ places sound over whelming? Or does it energize you at the prospects? I’m weird; 18 credit hours of school for Fall? Energizing! Two blogs? OMG! NOOOOO!! *FAINT* It depends on how you feel about…

    • mishie1 August 12, 2013 at 3:55 pm #

      Honestly, I like to post every day. That’s my goal, but there is no way I can post DIY anything more than twice per week. I guess I can rename this site, and if I find that I need a second one I can just make a second one…

  3. Daniel B. August 12, 2013 at 5:58 pm #

    It really depends a lot on your personality. Changing a theme to a blog is nice, but it is kind of hard to suggest things for someone else. I know on blogger, I adjust themes myself and do it until I am done, usually takes about and hour or two. Also, if you are thinking about different blogs, think about what colors you want. Like for food, maybe greens and browns, especially if you are thinking healthy. For fashion, I would imagine pastels or some kind of purple. but, like I said, that is me. I think you have seen how I have different layouts for my different blogs, so just kind of make it fit you.. and remember you can always keep it for a while and change it later if you dont like it. I like to start out with a pre-made template and customize it so I dont have to start from scratch.

    Does that help???

    I also think linking stuff with a FB page or to your FB helps, as well as making some custom image or header. Click on my Single Me blog here and look at the theme, also notice I moved the links to one side and have the reading space big, that’s because my primary thing is blogging. I keep my links very little and have places for people to connect with me and subscribe in at least two different ways (and another if you count the FB widget).

    I look forward to seeing what you come up with! :)

    p.s. – And make sure people can read your blog. So make sure the background does not mess up the text or comments.

  4. Daniel B. August 12, 2013 at 6:01 pm #

    p.s.s. – here is the link of the online editor I used to make my FB covers and other images for my blogs. Just remember to save a lot, so if you mess up you can go back easily. I made my SINGLE ME and Xanga cover/pic with this and really like them a lot.

  5. Daniel B. August 12, 2013 at 6:02 pm #

    oops, here is the link: http://pixlr.com/editor/

  6. M August 12, 2013 at 7:01 pm #

    I debated that myself. I’ve fallen into the I’m keeping a single site for now camp. The only times I think I’ll split are if I am doing a one-off series project that is a major topic (e.g. a work-out journal) or if I decide to actually start engaging in professional oriented blogging.

  7. quirkyintrovert August 14, 2013 at 9:23 am #

    I’m the kind who has two blogs: a personal one (for a limited audience), and one which goes into specific topics (and is more public), so I’ll share my experience with it.

    I figured that people would be more interested in my thoughts on certain topics than reading about all my personal issues, but there were people interested in both. One drawback about keeping the two separate was that I often felt as though the readers of my public site had the wrong impression of me, because I never wrote about my personal life. However, because of that, I am less hesitant to share my public blog on Facebook, where people who know me in real life can read what I write. If you don’t feel you have anything to hide, then that won’t be a problem for you.

    I have noticed that blogs which focus on a specific topic will get more followers, if the people are interested in that topic. Then again, there are people who like reading the mundane details of other people’s lives, so perhaps keeping it all together in one place may be better. After all, the few times that I did post about my life on my topic blog, the response from my readers was better than I thought it would be.

Leave a Comment

