You’re Single, I’m Single…Let’s Date!

11 Aug

I was having a conversation today with a coworker about just how lonely it is to have neither a best friend, nor a boyfriend. Me and my coworker are basically in the same boat.

Our conversation actually led to 3 little words: LET’S BE BFF’S!!!

While we may not actually end up being real best friends, I am hopeful that we can forge a friendship that lasts outside our time spent working together.

And that brings me to my point: why aren’t relationships that easy?

They don’t even have to develop into a serious relationship, but what’s wrong with two friends, who just happen to be single, decide to try and date?

Nothing. If it goes poorly, no harm done. If it goes well, maybe you just found your soul mate!

What do you think of my proposal? Would you ever give it a shot? Should it be that easy, or is that too easy?

5 Responses to “You’re Single, I’m Single…Let’s Date!”

  1. Daniel B. August 10, 2013 at 9:05 pm #

    I think sometimes it can be, but I think (1) People have high ideals of physical attraction (Personally I go for cute, but I will take hot as well I suppose). (2) There are factors like humor, intellect, politics, and religion (I remember us having that conversation where you said too bad I was a Christian, otherwise you’d be interested). So, its complicated… I have a friend I wouldnt mind dating but she suffers from depression and also doesnt seem to be all that into me. Ive tried to suggest talking on the phone or Skpye, but “somehow” it never happens.

    Plus, with friendships your guard is down and you accept stuff from friends, even opposite sex friends, that you wouldnt accept from someone you were dating or wanted a relationship with in the future. Like I dont mind if a friend is frivolous with money, but I woudlnt want my girlfriend to be.

    • mishie1 August 11, 2013 at 8:38 pm #

      It’s true…all of it…but at the same time, what’s the worst that can happen if things happen that easily? You just don’t click, no hard feelings (supposedly). But fireworks could happen…you just never know!

  2. autumnstrength August 11, 2013 at 12:41 am #

    I WISH it was this way. I’d be fine with quite casually agreeing to ‘date’ someone, just for the hell of it, just because we’re single and it might be fun. I don’t have that picky mentality a lot of people, especially women, have about who they’re willing to go out with or not. As long as they don’t have hateful opinions, seem slutty, like clubbing & heavy drinking, think documentaries are boring, I’d give it a go!

  3. wallsofwinterfell August 11, 2013 at 7:40 am #

    I have been lucky in life because I’ve never had a hard time making friends, forging close friendships and also having strong relationships. But part of it is luck. Who you meet, where you are etc. So maybe luck is smiling on you now with your new friend! I hope it works out! :)

    Also I was born with a twin sister. So I had a built in best friend from day one! And sometimes when she makes friends with someone new, I end up becoming friends with them too when I meet them! Thus, I have someone else doing the work for me! hahah!

  4. erikamsteele August 11, 2013 at 8:42 pm #

    This is one of those questions where it depends on way too many factors.

Leave a Comment

