Thoughts on Body Hair

22 Jul

For quite a while I was very against body hair. I’ll blame it on my youth – when you’re 14, body hair doesn’t seem normal.

I’m still very much against hair on my own body. I made a comment recently that if I could get rid of all of the hair on my body, I totally would. Keep in mind this excludes hair on my head and my eyebrows/eyelashes.

Someone replied saying that you don’t get to choose, and so I would actually not have any hair, and not having any hair is horrible.

Well, last time I checked, wishes don’t really come true, tricky genies don’t exist, and I can choose which areas of my body I can get laser hair removal on.

So, yes. I would remove all of my body hair. Permanently.

On other people, however, I’ve found that I don’t really have an opinion on their body hair (back hair is what I feel most strongly about, but definitely not as strongly as I used to). As long as men are well-groomed, it’s fine (there is a limit, but I really only know it when I see it). Women – not my business.

And as a side note, while I’ve never seen it, apparently shoulder hair exists.

How do you feel about body hair? On yourself? Your significant other? When is it too much? Too little? What are some dos and don’ts of grooming and body hair?

8 Responses to “Thoughts on Body Hair”

  1. autumnstrength July 23, 2013 at 12:40 am #

    I love female pubic hair and I find arm pit hair on women quite sexy too. I’ve always viewed that triangle of hair between a woman’s legs as a visual symbol of being female. I love how it looks and feels, and when it’s removed it looks like something is missing to me. It disappoints me that a lot of women remove their pubic hair nowadays. I don’t have a problem with general body hair on women either – women grown hair in pretty much all the places that men do, but usually to a lesser extent, and it doesn’t bother me. I’d rather have a girlfriend who feels so comfortable and unjudged with me that she doesn’t feel pressured make her body look a particular way. Bleaching/waxing anal hair is one of the dumbest things I’ve ever heard of. Hair on men? I have a few stragglers on my shoulders and I have hair on my back and chest. I wouldn’t remove it for anyone. If a woman is disgusted by it then I think she needs to grow up and accept that human beings are hairy.

  2. buddy71 July 23, 2013 at 1:49 am #

    I don’t mind pit hair on women and some pubic hair is good too. Neatly trimmed pubic hair is good. Most women are not that hairy on their arms so that is not a problem. She doesn’t have to shave her legs all the time but I am sure if she wants to wear shorts etc she will want to.
    I was not really hairy until I got older. I trim my pubic area for I feel “she” would prefer that.. as for facial hair on me, I have had a mustache for a very long time and I sometimes grow out my beard.

  3. fadingsunlight July 23, 2013 at 9:28 am #

    I’m not a fan of mine. Part of it is that I live in Florida; it is hot 360 days of the year. I like shorts and dresses and swimwear and hair just isn’t a great accessory for that. But then there’s Sean…he used to shave pretty much his entire body (not including legs…usually, but I heard he did that a time or two, too.). I, however, love chest hair and facial hair (on guys). It didn’t take a lot of convincing to get him to grow it all out; it’s a whole lot easier than trying to keep up with shaving it, of course. I love it. He loves me playing with his chest hair. And I think he enjoys the break from doing battle with his facial hair and the razor. :-)

  4. bagpipesandbells July 23, 2013 at 12:48 pm #

    I don’t care one way or another what someone wants to do concerning body-hair wise.

    Personally, I keep some facial hair (a five o’clock shadow) mainly because shaving causes me to break out horribly and I don’t shave my chest/abdomen. I do shave my legs though because I like to wear very short shorts and it just looks better (not to mention it brings out the muscle definition in my legs more) and I intend to eventually get laser hair removal done on my legs.

  5. butimbeautiful July 31, 2013 at 12:57 am #

    I like hair, I’m a big fan. I like it on me – no brazilians please – and on other people. The first time I ever saw a guy who’d shaved his bikini line etc, I couldn’t stop laughing for hours. To me, hairy is manly. No hair on a man is like small boobs on a woman – lovely in its own way, but give me the full deal any day.

  6. thoughtsappear July 31, 2013 at 11:08 am #

    I hate hair on me, so I’ve had laser hair removal on my bikini line and lowers legs. On guys, I dig it.

    • mishie1 August 1, 2013 at 9:12 am #

      How was the laser hair removal? Expensive? Timely? Hair completely gone?

      I don’t know a whole lot about it, but it’s something I’ve been interested in for a while.

  7. thoughtsappear August 2, 2013 at 1:00 pm #

    I would say 90% of the hair is gone, and what’s left is mostly really fine. I can barely see it. It was pricey, but in my opinion completely worth it.

Leave a Comment

