A Woman’s WingMAN

8 Jul

I’ve never had a wing, but if I was going to a choose a wing,  I have a couple of options. I can choose a wing woman for myself, or a wing man.

Generally, men tend to have wing men and women have wing women (or something…do wing women even exist?), because you want to attract a mate of the opposite sex (or I do, at least), and you might be sending them mixed signals if you are with your guy friend.

It’s kind of like you want to look thinner and prettier…you invite your fatter, uglier friend along.

But there is the option of taking your opposite sex buddy along with you. I feel like if I took my best guy friend to the bar as my wing man, that I was actually interested in him. If he offered to be my wing man, I’d speculate he might be interested in me. If neither of those were true, I think other guys would assume I was taken, and would not approach me. Maybe with a good enough wing man, he strikes up conversation with the man of interest and talks you up.

I’d still be leary, if I was a man. But I’m not.

So…

Men, would you approach a woman if her wing was a man? Women, would you approach a man if his wing was a woman? Do you find “wings” effective when picking up people? Have you ever been a wing, and do you enjoy it? 

2 Responses to “A Woman’s WingMAN”

  1. purplepoet7 July 8, 2013 at 10:28 pm #

    I’ve never had a wingperson because there was only once that I attempted convincing someone to date me. He was someone I’d know forever, so I basically just told him I was in love and he said ok.
    We don’t do skills.

  2. honestfemme July 10, 2013 at 5:49 pm #

    I’ve commonly been the wingwoman for my single friends on the prowl of both the male and female persuasion. It usually sees me distracting/entertaining their respective wingman/wingwoman while my friend and their love interest du jour play get introduced to each other’s tonsils in the corner. Needless to say, I don’t particularly enjoy being a wingwoman but it is becoming a necessary evil in supporting a friend’s various conquests. Honest.

Leave a Comment

