Video

What if the Gay/Straight Roles were Reversed?

24 Jun
4 Responses to “What if the Gay/Straight Roles were Reversed?”

  1. erikamsteele June 24, 2013 at 5:25 pm #

    Reblogged this on Feigned Affections.

  2. erikamsteele June 24, 2013 at 5:36 pm #

    I answered this post on Xanga and I’ll post a similar answer here. I’ve seen the video before and it is sad, but I am not going to focus on the video. I am going to answer the question in the title. Anytime there is a question of if X social role were reversed with Y social role it is never going to be as simple as it is portrayed in the movies. If we lived in a society where heterosexual people were considered “queer” then heterosexual people would have to fight to have their voices heard, feel accepted, have rights, desire to feel not discriminated against the way anyone else would if they should choose to go against societal and cultural norms. If homosexuality were considered normal, some people may empathize on some level with with heterosexuals, but the majority of society is not going to care unless it affects them on some personal level.

    Life is not fair. Either you go against what society expects and you learn to live with that, you change yourself to fit in, or you pretend to fit in and hide your true feelings. It isn’t fair that people discriminate against others, but that is just the way life is. I think it is sad that some people become so hurt by the fact that they feel like they don’t fit in that they kill themselves, but at the same time I also think that you have to learn to live with who you are.

  3. grannyandthebaldguy June 24, 2013 at 9:25 pm #

    I have seen this before and wouldn”t it be nice if all straight people could understand and accept everyone. Wouldn”t it be nice if we could all except each other.
    My youngest son is married and he and his husband are business people in the city and are well respected.
    I love them both and consider his husband my kid also..
    I have lost friends over the years because they do not accept my son and his husband. I do not tolerate such ignorance.
    I have never been in what society calls the in group, but then who wants to be.
    I do not argue with people who is right or wrong, and I do not try to change the opinion of anyone else.
    I just know that in my little space in this world that kind of stuff i snot allowed.

  4. oburi June 26, 2013 at 2:29 pm #

    Wow. That just brought back my entire childhood experience.

Leave a Comment

