30 Day Letter Challenge: Dear Ex-Boyfriend

18 Jun

Dear Ex-Boyfriend,

I haven’t talked to you in a very, very long time.

Our breakup wasn’t as smooth as it could have been, and it’s really unfortunate because, while you technically broke up with me, it was a mutual breakup.

We never talked about this part of it all, but…here we go.

First of all, how dare you break up with me via text message. I can recall the moment you demanded that if I ever broke up with you that I had to do it in person as if it happened just today. I also remember so vividly that I told you I was a decent person, and simply out of respect I would do it in person, but that I didn’t have to do anything you told me.

And then, you break up with me with a text and tell me I’m being difficult when I call you on it? So much for that year and a half we had.

But it’s okay. It was a relief to be done. Mutual, remember?

It didn’t stop there, though. You had to try to argue with me all summer after that. You had to spread rumors. You had to try to hurt me. Well, it’s fine; things like that don’t phase me.

Oh, and by the way…I never dated that black guy, I didn’t drink that summer or really any other summer and I still don’t really drink, I never went party-crazy, and all the friends you say you hated when we were together? Yeah. They still hate you.

I do look back on some of the memories I have with you fondly, though. Our relationship wasn’t bad by any means, and while there are some things I wish I could yell at you about, I won’t because it doesn’t matter any more. So, while I will continue on with my life, know that even though things ended horribly, it was all for a reason.

Everything happens for a reason. Even us. Even our break up. Remember when I would always tell you that? That’s because its true.

Always, Me

2 Responses to “30 Day Letter Challenge: Dear Ex-Boyfriend”

  1. fadingsunlight June 19, 2013 at 6:39 am #

    Why do perfectly decent human beings turn into jackasses when a relationship ends? Why?!

    • mishie1 June 19, 2013 at 2:22 pm #

      I have no idea, but it makes no sense at all! Its so unnecessary!

Leave a Comment

