30 Day Letter Challenge: Dear Mom and Dad

12 Jun

Dear Mom and Dad,

I love you.

You’ve been such a source of strength throughout my entire life. You are the balance – the yin and the yang – that we all need in our lives.

And I’m lucky enough to have it.

I wish every day that you would move up here. It almost breaks my heart being so far away from you both, and while its good for me, sometimes I think that I do too many things that are good for me.

You’ve taught me well, though. I don’t know if it’s the stubborness I’ve received from you both, or the good values you’ve given me, but regardless it’s because of you that I’ve never done drugs. I’ve never made poor life decisions. I’ve never been drunk.

Some would say that I’m missing out, but I would say that there is nothing in those things that I’m not happy to be missing out on.

There is one thing that I think you’ve taught me more than anything. Independence. Sometimes you call it lack of respect, but you have always allowed me to speak my mind and have adult conversations with you, and it means the world to me that you’ve done that. I respect you both so much, and I hope that you can see that if we ever argue – it’s not out of anger, or spite, but out of a respect to be able to appreciate you for all of the things you are – mother, father, human.

If there is one thing I hope I’ve given you, it’s pride in me. I strive each and every day to make you proud. That’s my girl! is something I want you to always be able to say.

I love you.

I miss you.

Always, Me

One Response to “30 Day Letter Challenge: Dear Mom and Dad”

  1. mamma August 31, 2014 at 5:45 pm #

    I love you too Michelle. You have made us very proud of you. And yes, you do have a stubborn streak about you, Our strongest leaders have stubbornness, as do both of your parent’s. I am proud to know that your life choices are what they are. That you have values, and you will never convince me you are agnostic. Your my baby, grown or not, and like I sang to you before “I love forever, I like you for always”. You are the twinkle in your daddy’s eye.

Leave a Comment

