Fashionable?

10 Jun

I’ve never been one to “follow” trends. That doesn’t mean what I’m wearing isn’t in style, though. It just means that I don’t like something simply because its popular.

Basically, if I like it, I wear it.

Often times I’ll find something that I really love – cloche hats, mustaches, circle skirts – but can’t find it anywhere because it isn’t “in style” or “trendy” yet. Then, I’m forced to have to wait until it is.

Other times, I’ll absolutely hate something – skinny jeans – but after I’ve thought about it and witnessed it enough, I decide that it’s not so bad, so I’ll go try to find some cute somewhere.

Point of the story:

Yesterday I was shopping for rings in Icings. I’m obsessed with bold animal rings (or really animal anything), and they usually have a good selection. As I was browsing, the sales woman comes and tells me about these things called midi rings. She said if I love rings as much as she does, I would love these.

If you haven’t heard of them, they are rings for the middle portion of your finger…so, in between the first and second knuckle (instead of between the 2nd and 3rd like rings are classically worn). See picture above.

I was instantly won over, and bought a pack. I wore one today, and I’m unsure of how I actually feel about it.

Midi rings: fashionable or fashion faux pas? Thoughts? Would you ever wear a ring in this place on your finger?

3 Responses to “Fashionable?”

  1. erikamsteele June 10, 2013 at 3:09 pm #

    These are cute. I’ve always liked them.

  2. quirkyintrovert June 10, 2013 at 4:18 pm #

    I’m like you in the sense that I wear the styles that I like, and not because they’re the hottest trend.

    As for midi rings, I’ve seen a few people wear them over the years, but I never knew until now that they are intentionally worn between the first and second knuckle. I thought people wore them that way because they really liked the ring but it didn’t fit all the way. :-D

  3. thecuriousbum June 11, 2013 at 12:26 am #

    They’re not bad. Who’s to define a ring solely between the 2nd and 3rd?

Leave a Comment

