Swimsuit Season

8 Jun

I went shopping today in hopes of finding a newer, cuter swimsuit than the one that I have now. Something maybe a little more flattering.

All I found was disappointment.

Some suits had cute tops, but hideous bottoms. Other bottoms were cute, but not the right size. And then there are the tankinis that are too short, and the one-pieces that make you feel like a grandma. Cover-ups were too short, or too long, or too tight, or too opaque (really…what’s the point of even wearing a cute swim suit if you are going to cover it up?).

I’ll never understand why it’s all so difficult. Or why most cover-ups are tops, and not bottoms. If you are uncomfortable wearing a bikini top and need to cover it up, why don’t you just buy a tankini? And if you are uncomfortable wearing a one piece, how is that different than wearing a shirt? And isn’t it safe to assume that you are uncomfortable wearing what is practically underwear? That’s definitely the area I want to cover up…

All rhetorical questions (ish). And slightly cynical, for which I apologize. Long day.

How do you feel about swimsuits and swimsuit shopping? Bikini, tankini, one-piece, or other? Would you ever rather wear a one-piece instead of a bikini, but feel like you’ll be judged for it?

8 Responses to “Swimsuit Season”

  1. lovepattyx0 June 8, 2013 at 10:54 pm #

    I haven’t found a bikini yet that I fell in love with at the stores. I need to order them offline. Seriously.

  2. AncoraImparo June 9, 2013 at 12:21 am #

    I want a vintage/50s/pinnup type suit. Like this! http://www.pinupgirlclothing.com/swimwear.html

  3. LoveIn102 June 9, 2013 at 4:46 am #

    pretty sure I hate bathing suit shopping even more so than bra shopping.

    • mishie1 June 9, 2013 at 10:02 am #

      True dat! Its agonizing.

  4. fadingsunlight June 9, 2013 at 5:08 pm #

    I hate all clothing shopping right now. I went shopping for a dress to wear to Sean’s friend’s wedding in July this past weekend and wanted to kill myself. Why do the things in the stores only look good on size 2’s??

    • mishie1 June 9, 2013 at 6:28 pm #

      Ugh! Right?! Or only come in size 2! I found this really adorable pair of pin dot aqua jeans that would have looked great on me….but didnt have my size, even online.

  5. Diane May 10, 2016 at 7:52 am #

    I’d love to quote you and post links back to this blog post from my website swimbliss.com. I’m definitely in the coverup camp – and happy to see I am not alone in feeling too self conscious wearing what passes as accepted swimwear.

    • mishie1 June 20, 2016 at 8:25 pm #

      I’m sorry that it took me so long to respond, but yes – please feel free!

Leave a Comment

