My First Refashion!!

5 Jun

So not only is this my first refashion, but it is my first tutorial on WordPress! How times have changed. Well, hopefully you enjoy, and will be a little inspired by me. First, I should mention where my inspiration came from. This very awesome lady can be found here. She was doing refashions each day  for a year, and I can’t even describe how awesome they were!

Second, I found this print and instantly I knew that I wanted to do a rockabilly something of sorts. This is where I drew my inspiration from:

The halter part of this just spoke to me, and matched the pattern I found exactly! So, now that that is out of the way, lets begin!

So, I found this skirt for $3.99 at Goodwill. The pattern popped out at me, and with all the fabric of a skirt, I knew it would be a good first refashion!

But, it the only color it came in is “Shapeless 90’s skirt”, and we just couldn’t have such a great pattern on such a terrible article of clothing, now could we?

DSC00592

So, for my first order of business, I had to cut that elastic waistband off. I’m not sure how you even wear an elastic waistband, to be honest.

I cut just below that final seam. Then, I had to cut excess fabric off. I knew I wanted to make it into a shirt, and I knew I wanted a “baby doll” similarity to it, so I measured from just under my bust, to a little further down than where I wanted it to sit. I folded the “skirt” (more like shapeless piece of cylindrically-sewn fabric) into  fourths so that I could [hopefully] cut the fabric straight, in the easiest way possible.

 Quite a lot of excess fabric to play around with. First, I needed to take in the sides of what would be the bodice of my shirt. It needed to be fitted at the top, so I put it on my home made dress form (no tutorial for that, but I have pictures to make one of you would like to see how I did it) and pinned in the sides. Then, I sewed it up and cut it off.

The next part was a little tricky, but I cut squares out of the excess fabric, put them on the dress forms boobs, and folded to make a triangle that would cover my boobs. I actually used the bottom seam of the skirt for this part, so I wouldn’t have to sew an entirely new seam. Now, it was time to tack them on and see what things were looking like.

I also used ribbon to see how high up the triangle needed to sit so that the halter part would lay flat. Another note…I didn’t want a plunging neckline, so I put the innermost part of the triangle off-center on the opposite side. I used that triangle to cut out another triangle, and sewed them on. Of course, I had to make sure they actually fit my boobs. (Pardon the cleavage)

It was at this very important step that I realized I forgot to put darts in the triangles to actually make them boob-shaped. My bad! I should have done this before I attached them to the shirt, but I forgot. Darts would have been easiest from the bottom, at least in my opinion.

Here is the dart I made. I kind of just winged it, but the fabric hides it pretty well anyway. When you make darts, make sure your seam meshes almost flawlessly with the folded edge of the fabric, or you’ll get “weird pointy boob” effect.

Then, and I apologize for not having a picture of this, I put bias tape around the entire top of the shirt (the back top seam, the side of the triangles, etc). I couldn’t find anything about 1 to 1.25 inches, so I bought the 2 inch stuff, folded it, and sewed it on both edges. And, voila!

One new shirt! It didn’t come out quit like the inspiration picture, but overall I’m happy with it. Not bad for a first-timer, though.

What do you think of my first refashion? Might you be inspired to try your own?

6 Responses to “My First Refashion!!”

  1. LoveIn102 June 6, 2013 at 5:26 am #

    that’s a really cute idea, and nice work! you can’t tell it was done by hand in the picture. it sounds like something that could be a lot of fun but I know nothing about sewing and would definitely screw it up. did you do the alterations by hand or use a machine?

    • mishie1 June 6, 2013 at 8:53 am #

      Thanks! I used a machine. Even wgen I have minor repairs to make, I often do “manual” stitches with my machine – its just faster.

  2. fadingsunlight June 6, 2013 at 8:26 am #

    It is really cute! Good job! I think I may ask for a very basic sewing machine for Christmas…maybe. If I sew my fingers together thought, I’m blaming you! :-P

    • mishie1 June 6, 2013 at 8:54 am #

      Thanks! And I really hope you do (not the fingers, lol), having a sewing machine can open so many crafting doors.

      • autumnstrength June 10, 2013 at 3:15 pm #

        That’s pretty amazing how you can do that. I imagine one would get a great deal of satisfaction from wearing something you put together yourself.

        • mishie1 June 10, 2013 at 5:20 pm #

          Thanks! It is actually *very* satisfying. And when someone tells you how much they like it, its even more satisfying telling them you made it.

Leave a Comment

