Automatic Withdraw

1 Jun

found that I have a tendency to withdraw and detach myself when my feelings are revealed, or there is a possibility that my feeling are mirrored in he whom they are for.

It’s kind of unfortunate, because often enough that can signal as uninterested, and we don’t want that.

Maybe its a fear of change. Maybe its a fear of being vulnerable. I can’t be certain, but I am certain that it is something I shouldn’t be doing.

Do you ever withdraw when you tell someone your feelings, or you are beginning a new relationship? Why do you think this occurs? 

5 Responses to “Automatic Withdraw”

  1. erikamsteele June 1, 2013 at 4:47 am #

    I definitely tend to withdraw when my feelings are exposed. It doesn’t matter whether it is the beginning or end of a relationship. Feeling emotions is not something I am good at.

  2. fadingsunlight June 1, 2013 at 8:06 pm #

    Before I met Sean, there were a couple of guys that I was interested in. They turned out to either be window-licker crazy when I got to know them better or they weren’t interested in me, though a few lasted for a weeks-long relationship sort of deal. (Are we dating? Are we not? FML if I know! Grr… Oh, i guess we weren’t! Sort of thing.) So, when I finally did meet Sean, I…pulled back hard. No way was I getting hurt again! In fact, just for funsies, we both sort of did! It sucked and three months in we ended up breaking up. For, like, a week, but still… In that time, we both kinda realized our own shit and how much we really did miss each other. We came back together and cut the crap. It’s worked out pretty awesomely ever since and I’m glad we did. It was really hard getting here, but it was worth the work.

  3. ghilliesguide June 1, 2013 at 10:29 pm #

    I’m sorry, but tradition won’t allow me to have my first comment on your blog be a serious one. Forgive me for what I’m about to do, won’t you?

    I have the same problem with chewing gum. Every time I try to enjoy it, it blows up in my face, so I find myself not putting it out there too much. I just chew on the whole deal a while, to see where it’s at.
    But if I do start to feel comfortable about our relationship, I’ve been known to finally open up and breath new life into it.

    • ghilliesguide June 1, 2013 at 10:29 pm #

      Moron, it’s spelled breathe.

      • mishie1 June 2, 2013 at 6:03 am #

        I know…gosh, that guy! Mistaking breath for breathe. Totally different!

Leave a Comment

