The Pressure to Marry

19 Aug

 

My parents live 4 hours away from me, and because of college and working I rarely am able to see them. Yesterday, however, they came and visited me and left this evening.

At one point in a conversation with my mother, I mentioned someone’s husband. Bad choice. Her immediate response was “You need to start looking for one.”

*facepalm*

Of course, all the talk of getting a boyfriend and looking for one ensued. I really think expectations are highly influenced by her marriage to my father at age 19, and my sister’s marriage to her husband at 23. I turn 23 in November, with not a boyfriend in sight. I can’t say that I really am too effected by it, because many, many vet students get their spouses in vet school.

What kind of pressure do your parents put on you to get married? Do you get pressure from anywhere else? How do you handle it?

One Response to “The Pressure to Marry”

  1. Carolina Courtland August 26, 2012 at 7:00 pm #

    Don’t be in a rush to get married. Marriage is not some magical thing that’s going to make your life amazing. Only marry someone you want to spend your life with and it make take a few years to find him.

Leave a Comment

