My Journey Through Music: Jazz

1 Aug

 

I’ve [finally] finished listening to jazz for my music project. I’ve been busy and travelling with family this last week so I haven’t had the opportunity to listen as frequently as I’d like. Hopefully, some of you have been listening along with me on YouTube! Anyway, lets get down to it. These are the jazz artists I listened to:

John Coltrane
Count Basie
Charles Mingus
Miles Davis
Louis Armstrong
Ella Fitzgerald
Charlie Parker
Dizzy Gillespie
Ornette Coleman
Jelly Roll Morton

Thanks to my friend, Joel, and @Unstoppable_Inner_Strength for helping me with my jazz artists.

I absolutely loved the jazz segment. I knew I would, but there is very little I didn’t like. Up until Ella Fitzgerald (and the list is listed in order of how I listened to them), none of the songs I listened to had vocals. When I got to Ella, it was a stark change to start hearing someone singing, but her voice is beautiful. My personal favorite of hers is “Fever”, but I didn’t listen to that as part of this project. Out of the songs I did listen to, my favorites were “Miss Otis Regrets” and “Love For Sale” because of the smooth quality to them. I also feel like I had a greater appreciation for the music because I’ve played jazz before. I also really liked John Coltrane, Louis Armstrong, Dizzy Gillespie, and Ornette Coleman. Coleman’s “Law Years” stands out as a personal favorite, as I was hooked by the intro. The great thing about this list of musicians is that there are several songs in which they perform together, which gives a more rounded image of the genre. An inner conflict I’m having is if I like trumpet or saxophone better. Nothing beats a good cello or bass, but trumpet and sax are neck and neck. Saxophonists impress me with the intricate finger work I know must be challenging.

All the songs were of a decent, easily listenable length. Even the longest song (10 minutes) wasn’t hard to listen to. The only lyrics I found to be sub-par were those of Ella Fitzgeralds “A-Tisket, A-Tasket”, but I was expecting it from my previous knowledge of the rhyme.

Once again, I decided to listen to 7 songs each. For John Coltrane, I used another blog to help me find songs, and it was really helpful because it broke down the song choices as to why they were good. The website I used for punk rock was mostly useless for jazz, so I pretty much used an website I could find. If you have any other suggestions on how to pick songs, I welcome your input!

Also, if you haven’t started listening along and taking the journey with me, you can go to my Youtube channel and follow along.

Do you like jazz? What do you think about my selection? Have you been listening along? 

Leave a Comment

