Texting Etiquette

18 Jul

 

Everyone has a different style when it comes to texting. There is the serial texter, who texts and has conversations multiple people all simultaneously. Then you have the neglexter, who neglects conversation and forgets to text you back. Some (and by “some” I mean men) are one-worders, who you can find responding to your texts with things such as “lol”, “k”, “maybe”, and the classic “sure”. Sometimes you will even get a slow-poke thrown into the bunch. I’m what I’d like to call the faithful texter. I always have my cell with me, and if you text me there is a 99% chance that I will text you back within 5 minutes (the caveat being situations like work, or if I don’t feel/hear my phone…but we will put those in that 1%).

All of this leads me to believe there should be standard texting etiquette that everyone should follow.

1. Carry your cell phone with you. Get a house phone if you don’t want the burden of keeping your cell with you.
2. Respond in a timely manner. No one wants to sit around waiting 30 minutes to see if you want to go to dinner only to ultimately go alone.
3. Be clear. This goes for in-person conversations as well.
4. Be as involved in a conversation as you would be in person. You wouldn’t forget to respond to a friend if they are right in front of you, so do your best to text me back. If you are busy, just tell me.

I know there are times when you just can’t be a faithful texter, but that shouldn’t stop you from trying. Bad texting should not become a habit.

What is your texting style? What general rules of etiquette should people follow? What is your texting pet peeve?

Leave a Comment

