Would You Be a Housewife/Husband?

8 Jul

 

It has come to my attention that although some women continue to fight and struggle for equal rights, others would still prefer to stay home while their husbands work and “bring home the bacon”. I’m not saying they are mutually exclusive by any means, but I definitely think they are contradictory.

Some women choose to stay home with their children to care for them and avoid babysitting costs. Its understandable enough. You get the kids off to school, clean up the house, then welcome them back when they get home and then make dinner for their husbands who will be home soon. What confuses me even more than being a stay at home mom is being a stay at home wife. No children…just staying at home.

I can’t even imagine what I would do every day if I didn’t have a job. Yes, days off and vacations are nice, but I would get super bored super fast, especially if all of my friends worked. Aside from potential extreme boredom, I would feel as though all of my independence was gone. I wouldn’t have any of my own money, I wouldn’t contribute to bills or food or anything. That also puts me in a bad position if he was to suddenly lose his job. There would be stress on me to find a job, there would be stress on him to find a job, and there would be stress put on our relationship. This is the same for men and women. Not to mention we would have more money if we both worked, which sums up to more saving, more travelling, more fun, and more extravagant living.

There is also an issue as to what is expected of the person who stays home. Should he/she do all the cleaning? I’ve also speculated that when men stay at home they are considered freeloaders, which isn’t fair to them when women are doing the same thing.

Are you a stay at home mom/dad/wife/husband? If you aren’t, would you want to be? When does staying at home cross the line into freeloading? 

6 Responses to “Would You Be a Housewife/Husband?”

  1. Kira July 8, 2012 at 12:43 am #

    I would love to be a stay at home spouse. I see nothing wrong with that. Though I admit that I don’t mind cleaning and I love to cook. Mostly I would love the extra time I would have to spend with the kids, and as a family.

    • silverlining09 July 9, 2012 at 2:32 pm #

      totally agree! it is really a grave mistake to prioritize economics over family.

    • mishie1 July 10, 2012 at 6:58 am #

      I totally understand the desire, but everyone seems to be mentioning spending time with their children. I’m really just interested in the thought of staying home without children.

      • Kira July 10, 2012 at 12:34 pm #

        Ah… I’m not sure I could stay at home in an empty house all day. There is only so much you can do to maintain a clean home, only so much laundry, so many dishes. If there are only two people, then your not cooking all day like a farmers wife.
        What’s left? Watching television? Spending all day online?
        After awhile I would simply go stir crazy.

  2. silverlining09 July 9, 2012 at 2:29 pm #

    For two years now I am a stay-at-home mom. I had my share of culture shock, leaving a lucrative career as a Team Manager in a call center industry. But being a “domestic Goddess” (that’s the term I usually use) has a lot of benefits. Hubby and I became closer. Our growing twins (now on 7th Grade) receive more attention. And I am able now to supervise house works which I was not able to do back then when I was in the office practically 13 hours a day!

    Now, I am contented to be a freelance writer. The pay is not that high but I reaped insurmountable blessings as a stay-at-home mom. :)

    • mishie1 July 10, 2012 at 7:00 am #

      I think its awesome that you write, and if I had more time I would definitely sew, but I don’t understand the big benefit of staying home if you don’t have children. I also don’t see why women find the need to supervise the house, etc. I would really like to get input from a stay at home dad (who does it by choice).

Leave a Comment

