How I Deal With Being Socially Awwkward

3 Jun

There are so many different types of socially awkward, that I can’t blog about every single one. They range from socially inept, to delightfully out-of-touch. It has a little bit to do with who you are, and a lot to do with how you treat it.

I’m definitely more toward the “delightfully out-of-touch” but I’m not quite there. Honestly, I really embrace my awkwardness; I revel in awkward moments, but I also find delight in the fact that I can turn them around and use them to my advantage. How do I deal?

Well, first I usually announce that I’m socially awkward. Its something along the lines of “Pardon my social awkwardness.” This relieves any pressure I have by my peers to be anything other than awkward. Then, I live it up! Random questions that have nothing to do with the task at hand? I’m a pro! Inability to enjoy small talk with my peers? Not a problem, just apologize and make an awkward joke! Those awkward moments of silence? I got it…respond with “Well…This is awkward…”

A great example of this is my “performance” at the Christmas party at work. Yes, the work Christmas party. Now, I’m not any good at mingling. I may go “stag” to almost every event I attend, but I usually find one person I know and glue myself to their side. This was a perfect opportunity to “mingle”! I was in good spirits, and as I chose my seat, a couple of the new girls had hoped I’d sit with them, but someone had already sat down. No big deal for the socially awkward me! I ate my food, talked a little bit, and then left to sit with them. My line of the night: “Don’t mind me, I’m just pretending I’m not socially awkward and ‘mingling’.” That allowed me enough wiggle room to bounce back and forth between the two tables easily, but also let me make jokes about how socially awkward I am.

This brings me back to my first point. There are different types of socially awkward. I work with animals, and let me just say that animal people, more often than not, are socially awkward on some level. I work with some people who I’d think were lying if they said they were awkward, but most are at least to some degree.

So I may not be socially inept, but I like being awkward. I use it to my advantage, and I enjoy it!

Are you socially awkward? How do you deal with it? If you aren’t, how do socially awkward people make you feel?

Leave a Comment

