Figuring Out Who People Are By How They Treat Waiters

23 May

I saw the above picture as I was browsing my Pinterest home page. I read it, and continued on without giving it a second thought. Then, I backtracked when I realized how true it really is.

As a general rule, I try to be as nice to people who I meet day to day as possible, and this includes the waiters and waitresses who work at the restaurants I eat at. I’m actually especially nice to them, not only because they can ruin my food if they don’t like me, but I have a habit of being a picky eater – no mayo, extra this, none of this, substitute this for this, etc. Even if they aren’t great at what they are doing, or if I’m not getting as much attention at my table as I’d like, I’m still nice to them. 

I haven’t had a whole lot of experience with people who aren’t nice to the waitstaff, but with the little experience I’ve had, it makes me wonder what is going on in their head. I can understand that the waiter is being slow, or they messed your order up, but that doesn’t mean you need to make their life suck. Right? Going back to the picture: no matter how nice a person is to me, if they treat waitstaff rudely they might not be worth it. I think it can say a lot about who a person is, and it makes me uncomfortable that I’m associated with such a rude person.

How do you treat your waiter/waitress? If a first date was treating you fabulously, but was overly rude to the waiter, would you be less likely to go on a second date with them? Any experiences with really rude people/friends?

2 Responses to “Figuring Out Who People Are By How They Treat Waiters”

  1. Renard Moreau May 23, 2012 at 8:13 pm #

    [ Smiles ] I would be most kind and polite to the waiter or waitress; they are human beings just like us!

  2. datingbitch May 23, 2012 at 10:00 pm #

    This sooooo true!!!

Leave a Comment

