When Should I Accept My Exes Friend Request?

20 May

Things didn’t exactly end the best with my last ex. It was more awkward than anything…you know how text breakups are. You never get to actually talk about what happened or vent or anything. You are even lucky surprised if you see him/her after that. Well…thats exactly what happened, and ever since its been really weird if I see him (even though I usually don’t – being hundreds of miles away has that effect).

And then he tried to add me as a friend on Facebook.

Normally, I make my decision in less than 30 seconds; I accept or deny, and thats the end of it. This case is a little special, though…let me start at the beginning.

First, while we were still dating, he made me delete his Facebook account because he couldn’t deal with me having any male friends (other than him). Then, he got upset when I did delete it. Fast forward a few months. Cue breaking up.

Next thing he tried to do after we broke up was add my best friend (who hehated when we were dating). She promptly denied and helped set the stage for me to deny him on Facebook as well. About this time, he started trying to spread rumors about me and purposely piss me off. Didn’t work…so lets move on.

Fast forward x amount of time, and he tries to add me on Facebook again. It left me flabbergasted. I no longer deny unwanted friend requests; I ignore unwanted friend requests. His request has been rotting in my notifications for a very, very long time. I just happened to look in there today to see if I’d changed my mind about anyone, and it made me think. Should I accept it? I haven’t talked to him for all of 1 sentence in the last 3 years.

What would you do? Do you have rules for being friends with exes on Facebook? 

Leave a Comment

