Limiting Yourself

17 May

 

I’m somewhat new to the whole trying new things scene. I say somewhat, because if something needs to be done in an unfamiliar situation, I will take charge and go first. Growing up, though, I didn’t try new foods, and I was never much for change. Now, as I grow older, I see the people around me refusing to challenge themselves.

They just accept things. They limit themselves. And I don’t understand.

Maybe its because I like to be fearless. Maybe its because I don’t like to be weak. Maybe its because I don’t like to give up. Maybe its because I like to be better than everyone else. 

Regardless of what brings me to my opinion, I see people limiting themselves and I don’t like it, especially when it limits what I can do. When I go to an amusement park and want to enjoy rides with a friend, its upsetting when they refuse because they are scared. Its equally upsetting when I want to enjoy a movie with a friend, but all of my friends refuse because scary movies scare them. I admit that I often enjoy doing things solo, but I find that friends are important, and doing some events socially is also a very important part of my life. These people can never enjoy certain things because of their limits.

Don’t get me wrong. I’m sure I have limits too, but I don’t seem to think about them very readily.

What do you limit yourself with? How do you handle others phobias, and do you ever find that they limit you also? What new things would you like to try this summer?

Leave a Comment

