Telling Someone You Liked Them – 5 Years Ago

11 May

 

For the record, I have only had one boyfriend. I’ve had some other encounters, but nothing that’s actually worth mentioning. I’m 22, and I’e been living a life wondering where all of those awesome guys are, and what may be potentially undateable about yours truly.

What makes this worse better more complicated, is the appearance of people I’ve known at various times in my life who then decided to tell me they liked me x amount of years ago. Most recently, a guy I went to elementary, middle, and high school with (small town) decided to tell me he has had a crush on me since middle school. Apparently, assuming he isn’t lying, he still likes me. Of course, I haven’t seen him in 4 years and we’ve not talking in that amount of time. The only contact we’ve had is being Facebook friends. Oh yeah, and he is in the military, so he isn’t in a geographically desirable position.

You remember that 1 boyfriend I had? Well, when we were dating about 5 or 6 guys I was friends with decided to tell me they had liked me before we started dating. One of my best friends even told me he was going to ask meto be his girlfriend the same day my then boyfriend did, and had meant to weeks before, but was too intimidated. And, what complicates the matter further, is that I had liked at least half of the guys at the same time they liked me.

I’ll admit I’ve done this a couple times. I’m not even sure why I did it or what I gained from the experience.

What is the point of telling someone you liked them ages ago? Have you done this or had it done to you? Should I give the newest guy to come out of the wood works a chance?

Leave a Comment

